Lunch & Dinner, Recipes

Tuscan White Bean Soup

A rustic, simple soup bursting with the flavors of onion, garlic, and herbs.

soup01a

Every now and then I buy something at the grocery store without having a plan for it.  This is my version of impulse shopping.  I’m very good at talking myself out of a new dress or sweater, not so good when it comes to food.  I don’t even buy crazy things when I impulse buy at the grocery store; I buy things like spätzle (which turned into this lovely dish) and giant cans of white beans.

Yes, Reader, you read that right.  My version of going on a shopping spree involves buying ingredients for which I do not yet have plans.  I get teased by some of my friends about how conscious I am of my spending habits and not wanting to buy more than the bare minimum.  When I travel I like to stay in hostels with kitchens so I can cook at least one of my meals and not pay to eat out all the time.  Sure, I splurge on things occasionally and like eating out once in a while (my latest restaurant adventure was the new “American-style” burger place down the road) but for the most part I am quite careful about where my money goes.  I hope that doesn’t make me sound like a terrible and/or boring person.  I do not go coupon-crazy like those people you see on TLC.

I’m not a huge fan of white beans (black beans are my favorite, but those don’t exist here), but buying a giant 30-oz can of white beans is cheaper than buying two 15-oz cans of kidney beans.  Being my relatively frugal self, I bought the big can and figured I would find something to do with them.

Boy, am I glad that I did.  This Tuscan White Bean Soup is so delicious.  It’s definitely the best soup I’ve had in a white, and believe me, I’ve been experimenting with soups since they are easy to make and save for later.

This soup features garlic, olive oil, rosemary, onion, and basil along with the white beans which all mix to form a fragrant soup that is just perfect for dipping chunks of crusty bread in.  I wish it was more photogenic because I don’t think these photos accurately express how good the combination of flavors is.

Tuscan White Bean Soup

Adapted from Kitchen Treaty

Serves 4

Ingredients

  • 1 T butter
  • 2 T olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 1 tsp dried rosemary
  • 1/2 tsp dried basil
  • 4 garlic cloves, smashed
  • 30 oz canned white beans, rinsed and drained (1 large or 2 small cans)
  • 3-4 cups vegetable broth (use low sodium if available)
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste

Instructions

In a large pot, heat butter and olive oil over medium heat.  When the butter is melted, add in the onion and saute until translucent, about 5 minutes.

Stir in the rosemary, basil, and garlic.  When you can smell the garlic, add the white beans and 3 cups of broth.  This should take only a minute or so.  Simmer until garlic is tender, about 20 minutes.  Remove from heat, allow to cool a little, and blend until smooth (or to desired consistency).

Return to heat and add move broth if desired.  Stir in the heavy cream and let simmer until heated through.  Season with salt and pepper to taste.  Optional: serve with a drizzle of olive oil.

Posted to Buns in My Oven’s What’s Cookin’ WednesdayMoonlight and Mason Jars, Serendipity and Spice’s Manic Monday, and the Friday PinFest!

4 thoughts on “Tuscan White Bean Soup”

  1. I often buy ingredients without knowing what I’m going to do, although I probably should plan better. This soup looks delicious and I love how frugal it is! I often use white beans to thicken up other soups, but never thought to feature them as the soup itself. And since it’s blended, my darling children won’t know I’m serving them beans 🙂

Leave a comment