Bake on Saturday, Dessert, Recipes

Triple Ginger Cookies

These soft and chewy cookies get their kick from three different types of ginger.

ginger cookies05a

At the beginning of the week I wrote about how we had finally gotten snow, and today it’s 12ºC (50ºF) and sunny.  Looking ahead to the next few days, it’s supposed to stay about that temperature.  I have some friends who are out skiing and snowboarding today…I have a feeling they aren’t too pleased with the weather, though I am personally enjoying it very much.  It seems like we’ve gotten a February thaw.

Can you believe it’s February already?!

I know, however, that it’s still quite chilly in most parts of the Northern Hemisphere.  And when it’s chilly out, you want to eat things that will warm you up.  Ginger is one of my favorite spices, in savory and sweet applications.  It also happens to have some warming properties, whether homeopathic or real.

These cookies were inspired by yet another cooking show.  They were making soft and chewy ginger cookies and, man, did they look good.  I went off in search of the perfect recipe only to discover that most of the ginger cookie recipes floating around cyberspace are exactly the same.  Of course, there are two types of ginger cookies–chewy and crispy–and there are different flour:butter ratios for the two.  But variations among the recipes themselves are small.  Anyway, I studied several recipes, picked one, and made a few changes.

ginger cookies01a

ginger cookies02a

My final recipe includes three types of ginger.  Stem ginger (or fresh ginger root, whatever you prefer to call it), ground ginger, and candied ginger all feature in this recipe.  Of course, if you’re a ginger newbie or aren’t sure how you feel about the spice, you can just use the ground ginger.  Or if you’re my cousin and have a ridiculous tolerance for spicy things, go ahead and amp up the amount of fresh and candied ginger.

The resulting cookies are not your usual ginger “snap” but are nice and chewy.  Every now and then you get a burst of extra flavor from the candied ginger.  They’re great with a cup of tea to warm up, or as a snack just because.

Excuse me while I go eat another.

P.S. My latest historic preservation related post on the blog PreservationJourney ties food and architecture together!  You can read “The Houses that Cereal Built” here.

ginger cookies09a

Triple Ginger Cookies

Makes about 30 cookies

Adapted mostly from this recipe

Ingredients

  • 6 T butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup molasses
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/4 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup chopped candied ginger
  • a 1-inch piece of stem ginger (fresh ginger root), peeled and grated
  • granulated sugar for dipping

Instructions

Cream together butter and brown sugar.  When fluffy and light in color, add in egg, molasses, and vanilla.  Beat until combined.  Thoroughly stir in flour, baking soda, spices, and ginger.  Chill in the fridge until quite firm (I did two hours, but I was out doing errands so it may be ready before that).

Preheat oven to 350ºF.  Scoop a tablespoonful of dough and roll into a ball, then dip the top into the granulated sugar.  Place on a baking sheet (mine was lined with parchment).  Leave about two inches between each cookie.

Bake in the oven for 10-12 minutes.

Posted to Angels Homestead’s Shine A Spotlight Saturday, A Peek Into My Paradise’s Happiness is HomemadeSaturday Night Fever, Baking in Pyjamas’s Sweet & Savoury Sunday, Serendipity and Spice’s Manic Monday, Anyonita’s Nibbles’s Tasty Tuesdays, Buns in My Oven’s What’s Cookin’ Wednesday, and Moonlight and Mason Jars!

9 thoughts on “Triple Ginger Cookies”

  1. These cookies would be something I would love I’m fairly certain. I’m a huge ginger fan and my nanny used to make soft ginger cookies all the time. Will definitely try your recipe out, love the use of 3 types of ginger! P.S. Visiting from Happiness is Homemade!

  2. I love ginger and these cookies sound perfect. I’ve used fresh root ginger in my baking before and I love that you’ve used it in these. I’m featuring these as one of favourites on Sweet and Savoury Sundays, stop by grab a button and link up again this weekend! Thanks for the great recipe!

Leave a Reply

