Craft & DIY Projects

Dressmaking: OhMeOhMySewing Keyhole Dress Pattern

The pattern used for the dresses below is the Keyhole Dress PDF Sewing Pattern by OhMeOhMySewing on Etsy. I was not compensated for this post in any way.

Living in southern Louisiana, three seasons of the year are sundress-season and that suits me just fine. While I can’t wear sundresses to work (steel-toed boots, anyone?), they are my go-to for evenings and weekend. What’s easier than just pulling on a comfy dress? There’s no need to worry about matching a top to pants or a skirt, which also saves time!

As I enjoy sewing, I make a lot of my dresses. It’s certainly not the easiest sewing project to tackle, but I get a little better with each one. These two are my most recent dressmaking projects, the blue and white keyhole made last August and the peter pan-collared tan dress made a few weeks ago.

P1110437

P1110449a

Though I used the same pattern for both dresses, they aren’t identical. This pattern from Etsy was my first print-at-home dress pattern. You simply download a PDF file, print all the pieces on regular 8.5×11″ paper, then tape the pieces together and cut them out like a regular printed pattern. The pattern comes in three sizes–small, medium, and large–and the small fit me. I usually wear a size 4 or 6 in women’s clothing. I used 100% cotton (probably categorized by most stores as quilting cotton) for both dresses. I’m intimidated by the prospect of sewing anything that isn’t 100% cotton, but that’s okay because cotton sundresses are lovely, except for the fact that they need ironing regularly.

The pattern includes instructions for sewing a keyhole, which I did on the blue dress. I love a tasteful keyhole or cut-out back! However, to further differentiate the two dresses, I decide to try my hand at drafting a peter pan collar and leave out the keyhole (I now see that the same woman who drafted the keyhole dress pattern has a similar dress with a peter pan collar, if you’re not up for trying to draft your own). I also made one dress pleated and one dress gathered–the pattern includes instructions for both styles. While I made both of my dresses to hit at mid-thigh, you could easily raise or lower the hemline to get a different desired length. All in all, the dress I made mostly recently probably took me about 10-12 hours to make, working a few hours at a time.

IMG_3257

Leave a Reply

