Lunch & Dinner, Recipes

Smoky Roasted Garlic Hummus

One summer in high school, I pretty much lived on pita, hummus, and carrot sticks. I had just discovered hummus and could not get enough of it. It was just so good, and thus I ate it for lunch every day.

Since then, I’ve cut back on my hummus eating. I still think it’s a delicious, healthy snack, but it’s no longer an everyday staple in my life. One of the reasons is because it seems a little pricey. Upwards of $3 or $4 for what is essentially just mashed chickpeas, which are themselves really cheap to buy? No thank you. And then, a revelation: make it from scratch.

IMG_2974

I don’t know why it took me so long to consider making my own hummus. I love making things from scratch. It’s pretty much the only way I operate when it comes to the kitchen. I’d made hummus from scratch before with my family using a large food processor but it wasn’t until recently that I remembered I owned a Ninja food processor and could use it to make my own hummus as well as smoothies. Duh.

This hummus, perhaps because I made it in a Ninja rather than a regular food processor, didn’t come out quite as smooth as store-bought hummus. I also left out the tahini because for the life of me I don’t know what section of the store to find it in (and I forgot to look). Because I left out the tahini, I’m going to say it’s optional in this recipe, leaving the measurements from the original recipe I tweaked. Someday I’ll find the tahini and come back and edit this recipe with my thoughts on the addition of tahini (I also need to find tahini so I can make these cookies).

IMG_2977

Smoky Roasted Garlic Hummus

slightly adapted from Five Heart Home

For the roasted garlic

  • 1 head garlic
  • 1 T olive oil

For the hummus

  • 1 head roasted garlic
  • 2 – 15 oz. cans chickpeas, drained with liquid reserved
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice, freshly squeezed if you have it
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp smoked paprika
  • 3-4 T reserved chickpea liquid
  • freshly ground black pepper to taste

For the roasted garlic: Preheat oven to 400°F. Leaving head of garlic intact, cut off top of head to expose cloves. Throw away the top. Place remaining head on a piece of aluminum foil and drizzle with olive oil. Wrap in foil, place on pan, and roast for 40 minutes until the garlic is soft and light brown. Cool before using.

For the hummus: Place skinned roasted garlic, chickpeas, olive oil, lemon juice, salt, pepper, paprika, and 3 T of chickpea liquid in a food processor. Blend until desired consistency is reached, adding more reserved chickpea liquid and spices as needed. Store in the refrigerator.

Posted to Happiness is Homemade and Full Plate Thursday!

6 thoughts on “Smoky Roasted Garlic Hummus”

  1. I’ve made plenty of homemade hummus, but never a roasted garlic variety – in fact, I’ve never actually roasted garlic at home! It sounds pretty simple, though, from your instructions, so I should give that a try sometime. I agree – why pay for hummus if you can make it yourself?

Leave a Reply

