Bake on Saturday, Dessert, Recipes

#InTheKitchenBecauseIWantToBe [Avocado Brownies]

Around the world yesterday, men, women, and children came together to make a stand against our newly-inaugurated president. I’ve thought a lot about coming back to blogging after almost a year and a half hiatus, and watching (virtually) people across the globe prepare for and attend the various marches made me want to write and share my thoughts with you Reader, whoever you are. I’m starting this post on Friday, inauguration day, but will be finishing this Sunday, after I participate in the Women’s March New Orleans. I’ll try not to make this post too political, but my creative juices are flowing right now.

One friend used the hashtag #InTheKitchenBecauseIWantToBe to caption a photo of her baking snacks to bring to her local march. I’m sure it’s been used before, but as someone who only skims hashtags, it was new to me. I love this hashtag.

I love to cook, I love to bake, I love to sew and craft. I like to wear dresses. I like the color pink, in certain shades that don’t blind me. But I participate in these aspects of “femininity” because I enjoy them. I want to be in the kitchen, at the sewing machine, toting around my pink purse.

I also want to walk to the neighborhood bar in the evening without worrying for my safety, and ride my bike without being yelled at by a man in a pickup. I hope that’s not too much to ask.

Taking a cue from my friend’s Instagram photo, I made a batch of brownies to pack as snacks for the march. Okay, they aren’t the most healthy option for a snack, but brownies are delicious. These, however, are special brownies.

Not in that way.

These are made with avocado in place of the usual egg and vegetable oil. One of my roommates brought home seven or eight avocados from work and shared them with the rest of us, so I thought I’d put some of the slightly-past-ripe stage to a new use. Brownies are one of the few things I make from a box, and with free avocados and free brownie mix (from a recently turned vegan friend), I had all I needed.

Avocado brownies are super moist, somewhere on the spectrum between cake-y and fudge-y brownies. I could not taste any of the avocado, though some other bloggers have called the brownies “earthy.” There were a few tiny pieces of avocado present in the brownies, the same way that an improperly mixed egg will sometimes appear in a muffin, cake, or cookie.

While my motto for eating is typically “everything in moderation” and I don’t count calories, macros, grams of fat, these brownies are definitely lower in calorie than your typical brownie. For example, vegetable oil has almost 1,000 calories in a 1/2 cup, while one avocado (dependent on size, of course), has closer to 300! Despite the lower-cal swap, they still taste delightful. I know the photo doesn’t quite do them justice but I forgot about that part of blogging until they were almost gone. Oops!

img_2731img_2703

Avocado Brownies

From Jelli Bean Journals

  • 1 10-20 oz brownie mix (I used Ghiradelli Triple Fudge)
  • 2/3 cup ripe avocado, mashed (this was 1 1/2 avocados for me)
  • 1/3 cup water
  • Your favorite brownie add-ins, such as chocolate chips or walnuts (optional)

Grease a 8×8, 9×9, or 9×13 baking pan.

Mix together brownie mix, mashed avocado, water, and any add-ins until fully incorporated. Spread the batter evenly in the pan, and bake according to the manufacturer’s instructions. Err on the side of baking a little longer than usual (I think I added three minutes to the recommended baking time).

 

2 thoughts on “#InTheKitchenBecauseIWantToBe [Avocado Brownies]”

Leave a Reply

