Recipes

4-Ingredient Banana Pancakes {Paleo, GF}

You won’t believe how tasty these easy paleo/gluten-free banana pancakes are!

paleo banana pancakes01a

About two or two and a half years ago, I remember seeing a crazy number of paleo pancake recipes floating around the Internet. One of my roommates at the time was experimenting with her eating habits (following different food plans, trying to cut out certain things to eat healthier). I have a specific memory of being in the kitchen shortly after returning from one break where we had all gone home for a few days and Roommate saying something like, “My sister and I tried those paleo banana pancakes and, oh my god, they were so good!”

Despite her high praise, I’ll be honest, I hadn’t ever tried them until earlier this year. I like trying out all the latest food trends, especially if they are ones I get to cook up in my own kitchen, but somehow it took me a long time to get to paleo banana pancakes.

I’m not eating paleo, and don’t really ever intend to. But I have a weakness for bread and other baked goods involving lots of flour and sugar and butter, so it’s always nice to find a healthy alternative that doesn’t involve special ingredients.

The ingredient list for this couldn’t be any easier: I used four ingredients, but I’ve seen two ingredient versions using just bananas and eggs. The almond butter and cinnamon add extra flavor, which balances they bananas, though to be perfectly honest, these taste a whole lot less like bananas than you might expect.

My non-paleo self likes to top these with nutella or some other chocolate nut butter. I don’t think I will ever get over the banana/chocolate/nut combination.

4-Ingredient Banana Pancakes

from Civilized Caveman Cooking

Ingredients

  • 3 medium bananas, the riper the better
  • 3 large eggs
  • 2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup almond butter

Instructions

Blend ingredients together until smooth – or, if you don’t want to clean your blend, mash everything as well as you can. Spoon or pour batter onto a a greased medium-heat griddle  to make 3-4 inch pancakes. Cook 2-3 minutes per side, then flip, and cook for about another 2 minutes per side until cooked through. Serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

