Bake on Saturday, Dessert

M&M Cookies

Thick and chewy cookies packed with chocolate chips and crispy M&M candies!

m&m cookies02a

Reader, do you remember a few weeks ago when I mentioned that I secretly (or not so secretly) love post-holiday clearance candy? Particularly M&Ms for making M&M cookies?

Well, I found a 99¢ bag of M&Ms at CVS, so today you get an M&M cookie recipe!

This recipe is from Yammie’s Noshery–which is one of those blogs I have a huge blog-crush on. I remember the first time I stumbled across her blog. It was one of those really exciting Friday nights last year when I was just chilling in my apartment looking at FoodGawker. I came across one of her recipes and then BOOM down the rabbit hole. Read the whole blog.

Despite my love of Yammie’s Noshery–the gorgeous photos, the witty comments, the funny stories–this was the first recipe I made from her blog. And it did not disappoint.

I don’t know what it is about M&M cookies, but in some ways they are so much better than regular chocolate chip cookies. I think it’s the crispiness from the candy shells of the M&Ms, which is funny because I don’t actually like M&Ms by themselves all that much.

Besides the fortuitous discovery of clearance M&Ms at the drugstore, I also made these to take on a dig that was supposed to take place in 30º weather. It actually got snowed out (oh, West Virginia), but I made the cookies anyway. While I intended these to be a (literally) freezing cold weather pick-me-up snack, I can also assure you that they are a great snack while photographing artifacts or just, you know, sitting in your apartment reading.

m&m cookies01a

M&M Cookies

slightly adapted from Yammie’s Noshery

(I forgot to count how many cookies this made)

Ingredients

  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract or vanilla bean paste
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup corn starch
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 12-oz package M&Ms
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips

Instructions

Cream butter and brown sugar until light and fluffy. Add eggs and vanilla, and cream together.

Add flour, corn starch, baking soda, and salt, and beat to combine. Stir in M&Ms and chocolate chips. Chill overnight or until firm.

Preheat oven to 375ºF. Scoop dough to desired size (I used heaping tablespoons), roll into balls, and press gently onto ungreased baking sheets. Bake about 8-10 minutes or until the edges are golden brown, rotating baking sheets halfway through baking if needed.

Posted to the Virtual Cookie Exchange!

5 thoughts on “M&M Cookies”

  1. They look delicious! As a kid I tried to make M&M cookies once, but my mother accidentally put the oven on grill function, so that did not exactly go as planned, haha (it was quite the disaster)! I’d love to make some again soon, though. 🙂

  2. Oh wow, these look perfect – I love how chunky they are. I didn’t make it to the post-Halloween sales in time to snag any of the good stuff, so I’ll have to pick up a bag of M+Ms soon to make these.

Leave a Reply

