Bake on Saturday, Recipes

Cranberry Orange Drop Scones

Buttery scones packed with fresh cranberries and orange flavor, perfect for the beginning of fall!

cran scones01

Big news, Reader.  After being back home with my parents for just over a month, I moved to West Virginia last week – I was probably packing the car as you were reading about Sparkling Wine with Strawberries.  West Virginia is not really someplace I ever imagined myself living, but after visiting a few times and seeing how absolutely gorgeous it was and how there are some cute towns, I decided to take advantage of an opportunity to serve with AmeriCorps doing heritage development.

We’ve been in training this week, filling out paperwork, doing leadership activities, receiving lots of AmeriCorps swag, and getting to know other AmeriCorps members serving with the same program.  I’m liking what I’ve seen thus far, though every now and then I have an “OH GOD WHAT DID I GET MYSELF INTO?” moment.

The last week before I came to West Virginia, the temperatures skyrocketed at home and it was in the 90s and humid.  As I drove south, it got quite windy and leaves swirled about.  When I woke up the first morning in my new apartment, it was 59° out.  All this is to say: fall seems to be arriving, at least in my new little town.  And fall not only means pumpkin pie and pumpkin bread, it also means apples and sweet potatoes and squash and cranberries.

I adore cranberries.  Making cranberry sauce at Thanksgiving has been my job since I was, I don’t know, eight years old?  If someone else offers to make it I feel like they are discounting me and taking away my dish.  But cranberries are fantastic in breads, muffins, scones, chicken salad, or covered in chocolate as well.  And today I’ve got a Cranberry Orange Scone recipe to share to help welcome the first hints of fall!  Tender scones with fresh cranberries bursting in each bite and a fresh, bright flavor from orange zest.  What could be better on a fall morning?

(Oh, and I don’t yet have Internet in my apartment, so bear with me while I get that sorted out.)

cran scones02

Cranberry Orange Drop Scones

adapted from bakingbites

makes about 12 small scones

Ingredients

  • 2 cups white whole wheat flour (or use all-purpose or your favorite combination)
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter, chilled
  • 1/2 cup fresh or frozen cranberries, coarsely chopped
  • zest of one orange
  • juice of one orange, plus enough milk or orange juice to make 3/4 cup
  • raw or demerara sugar, for sprinkling

Instructions

Preheat the oven to 400°F.  Grease a scone pan or a regular cookie sheet.

Whisk together flour, baking powder, salt, and sugar in a medium bowl.  Cube butter and add to dry ingredients, then cut in with your fingertips, a fork, or a pastry blender until the mixture resembles coarse corn meal.  Stir in cranberries and orange zest.  Add 1/2 cup of the orange juice and milk and stir to combine.  Gradually add in more liquid until the dough forms a ball.

Drop spoonfuls of the dough into a scone pan or onto a cookie sheet and sprinkle with demerara sugar.  Bake for about 16-20 minutes, until the scones are light golden brown.

Posted to Sweet & Savoury Sunday!

11 thoughts on “Cranberry Orange Drop Scones”

  1. Those look delicious, and I love the pan! And welcome back to the U.S…. do you need to change your tagline now to be the culinary exploits of an ex-expat?

  2. The Americorps sounds like a lot of fun!! And I’m sure discovering a new place is too! Enjoy West Virginia. These scones look amazing!

  3. Mmm…I love cranberries, too – these scones look delicious! It’s already getting into the 40s at night where I am, so these will be a nice morning treat to lure me out of my warm bed. Hope you’re enjoying your new environs!

  4. Cranberries and orange is always a winning combination, these look great. Thanks for linking up to Sweet and Savoury Sunday, stop by and link up again. Have a great day!! Laura@Baking in Pyjamas

Leave a Reply

