Recipes

Sparkling Wine with Strawberries {Erdbeerbowle}

White wine, sparkling wine, strawberries, and orange liqueur all mix together for a light, refreshing drink!

erdbeerbowle02

In 2010, after taking a year of German class, my mom decided that we should go on vacation to Germany to practice.  As I love to travel, I was all for exploring the country, though I was still hesitant about trying out my German language skills on the natives.  If you’ve been reading my blog for a while, you probably remember that later I ended up studying abroad and then I spent a year teaching in Austria.  German – the language and the cultures of Germany and Austria – have definitely influenced my life in many ways.

On that first trip to Germany, my mom and I went for a week and a half and visited a few cities in the northeast.  As we were traveling in mid-May, we encountered all the signs of spring: Spargelzeit (“asparagus time”), the seasonal Maibock beers, Maypoles, and spring festivals.  The spring festival we visited in Osnabrück was my first German fair experience and, man, do they know what they are doing.  Rides, food, beer and wine flowing, folk costumes, and just enough kitsch being sold to be entertaining and not overwhelming.

erdbeerbowle01

erdbeerbowle03This Erdbeerbowle, a sparkling wine drink with strawberries, was served at the spring festival we visited.  In wine glasses.  Real ones.  That blew my mind, a little bit.  Of course, you had to pay a deposit on the glass as an incentive to return it when you were finished, but still.  No plastic cups in sight.  It’s traditionally a spring drink and, I know, summer is basically over.  But I’ve still got until Monday before I begin my next adventure (more on that sometime soon), so I figured I’d better post this now.

I love how light this drink is, and how it’s like white wine but isn’t just white wine.  And it’s so easy!  You can make one pitcher of it and then you’re done, no making cocktails all night when guests are over.  It would be fantastic made with the first spring or summer strawberries, but if you just use fresh berries from the grocery store or farmer’s market, that will work just as well.  I promise.

Sparkling Wine with Strawberries

from Brigitte magazine

Ingredients

  • 1 lb. fresh strawberries
  • 5 T orange liqueur
  • 2 bottles white wine (750 ml each), chilled
  • 1 bottle dry sparkling white wine, such as Sekt or Prosecco, chilled

Instructions

Remove green strawberry tops and quarter berries.  Place strawberries in a large bowl or zip-top bag and cover with orange liqueur, stirring or tossing gently to coat.  Let rest in the fridge for about 30 minutes to an hour.

Place soaked berries in a large punch bowl and pour wines over the berries.  Serve and enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Sparkling Wine with Strawberries {Erdbeerbowle}”

Leave a Reply

