Bake on Saturday, Dessert, Recipes

Mocha Truffle Cookies

Delicious chocolate cookies with an intense coffee kick!

mocha cookies01

Saturday already!  I’ve fallen into a bad habit of not writing my blog posts in advance, like I used to do, and instead writing them on the day I plan to post.  I like doing it the other way better, but somehow the week disappeared.

I’m not sure what I was doing.  Besides, like, trying to figure out my life.

And thinking about what I’ll be sharing with you next week.

So this will be a short post!  This is one of those recipes that I’ve had saved (okay, pinned) for ages but never got around to making because of that one silly ingredient I didn’t want to buy.  In this case that ingredient was instant coffee.  I know, I know, a small purchase, but I really wouldn’t have used it for anything else, except for the odd chocolate baked good, maybe.  I’m not a huge coffee drinker, instant or otherwise.  (Ha, as I’m writing this, I’m thinking about how fantastic an iced coffee would be.  I may not be a huge coffee drinker, but when it’s warm enough to go around without a sweater, I love a mid-afternoon iced coffee).

When paired with chocolate, though, I am much, much more open to the consumption of coffee.  The mocha flavor in these cookies really comes through–like a mocha from a good coffee shop, one that’s not too sweet.  These may not be the prettiest, but they definitely are quick, chocolatey, and chewy!  What more could you ask for in a cookie?

The Wordy Baker

Mocha Truffle Cookies

From Cooking a la Mel

Makes about 3 1/2 dozen cookies

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips (for melting)
  • 1 T instant coffee powder
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 T vanilla
  • 2 cups flour (I used half white whole wheat)
  • 1/3 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup chocolate chips (to stir in at the end)

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350°F.  Grease 2-3 cookies sheets, or line them with parchment paper instead.

In a medium saucepan over low heat, melt butter and chocolate chips.  When melted, remove from heat and stir in instant coffee.  Let cool for five minutes, then stir in the sugars, eggs, and vanilla.

In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, and salt.  Add the chocolate-butter-sugar mixture to the flour mixture and stir until mostly combined, then add remaining 1 cup chocolate chips.  Stir to combine.  The mixture will be on the drier side.

Scoop dough in rounded tablespoons onto the prepared cookie sheets about 2 inches apart.  These do not spread much.

Bake for about 10 minutes.  Let cool briefly on the cookie sheet before removing to a wire rack to cool completely.

1 thought on “Mocha Truffle Cookies”

Leave a Reply

