Dessert, Recipes

Tangy Mint Chocolate Chip FroYo

Super tangy frozen yogurt like the mint chocolate chip ice cream you used to eat as a kid, just a little bit healthier!

froyo01a

I know some people are anti-mint, and this has caused the creation of ridiculous toothpaste flavors like cinnamon, strawberry, and bubblegum.  (I apologize if you use one of these.  Don’t take it personally.)  But I love mint, and mint chocolate chip has been one of my favorite ice cream flavors since I can’t even remember when.  And I can’t remember a time when I disliked the flavor of mint toothpaste, either.  Age twelve-ish in particular, I think, was the time when I claimed mint chocolate chip as my favorite ice cream.

But then I think I started exploring more and expanding my palate, and forgot a little bit about good old mint chocolate chip.  While traveling earlier this month, I had some mint chocolate chip gelato from one of Europe’s many gelato stands, and remembered how fantastic the flavor is.  When I discovered my mom had picked up a functioning ice cream maker, I decided I needed to try making my own mint chocolate chip.  Especially since my dad’s herb garden has an impressive crop of fresh mint, parsley, and other herbs this month.

So I set about making my own version of my childhood summer treat.  Since I first tried soft-serve frozen yogurt about four years ago, I’ve been in love with the tangy frozen treat.  While here in north Jersey we have more than our fair share of froyo places which are fantastic for going to with friends in the evening, whenever I go out to get it I can’t help but think that there must be a way to reproduce the flavor at home.  There is, of course.

FroYo Chocolate Shell on Make A Gif

Greek yogurt is key to this frozen yogurt’s tangy-ness.  If you don’t like “plain,” “natural,” “tart,” or “California” style frozen yogurt, use regular yogurt instead of Greek, or up the amount of sugar.  Because this is seriously tangy.  The dark chocolate pieces pair so well with the slightly tart yogurt, as do the herbal notes of the mint.  And we all already know how well chocolate and mint pair.  (If you disagree…I will be judging you.  I’m sorry).  I’m not dietitian, but I do know that this recipe has less sugar and cream than almost any you’ll find at the store or your local ice cream shop.

Tangy Mint Chocolate Chip Frozen Yogurt

Adapted from the Cuisinart MixItIn Recipe Booklet, with help from David Lebovitz and Katy’s Kitchen

Ingredients

  • 1 cup whole milk
  • 1 cup fresh mint, packed
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 2 cups plain Greek yogurt
  • 1 1/2 – 2 oz dark chocolate, finely chopped
  • optional: 1/4 tsp peppermint extract

Instructions

In a small saucepan, whisk together milk, sugar, and honey.  Add mint leaves.  With heat on medium low, bring to a simmer and let heat for a few minutes.  Remove from heat and set aside, leaving the mint leaves in to infuse into the milk.  Chill milk completely before using.  You can leave the mint leaves in while the milk chills in your fridge (mine went into the fridge for about 3 hours).

When ready to churn, strain milk and mix with Greek yogurt, dark chocolate, and peppermint extract.  Taste. adding more mint or honey as needed.  Do not add more sugar at this stage, as it will not have time to dissolve.

Freeze according to your ice cream maker’s instructions, then enjoy with some chocolate shell!

Chocolate Shell

For 2-3 people, melt 1/4 cup chocolate chips with 1/2 T coconut oil in the microwave until smooth.  While still warm, pour over ice cream or frozen yogurt.

6 thoughts on “Tangy Mint Chocolate Chip FroYo”

Leave a Reply

