Bake on Saturday, Dessert, Recipes

Bumbleberry Crisp {Vegan}

This Bumbleberry Crisp is made with apples and mixed berries, and topped with a delicious vegan brown sugar and oat topping!

crisp02a

Ok, Reader.  I’m a little behind on my Saturday post, so I’m going to keep it short today.  I’m traveling for another week, and I’ve had lots of ups and downs.  Right now I’m half-watching some movie about alien abductions with some people at a hostel in Sarajevo.  I meant to write this post earlier and talk about how while you, Reader, were reading it, I was on an 8-hour bus ride.  Alas, that is no longer true.  That was this morning.  Now I’m in Bosnia-Herzegovina, ticking one more country off my list.

Anyway, travel comes with both good and bad.  Right now, when I’ve been feeling more towards the bad side of things, it’s nice to remember better trips when you and your suitcase didn’t get soaked looking for an ATM that worked…like the many pleasant trips I’ve been on with my grandparents.  One of the good things about traveling with my grandparents was that we often returned to the same place so it felt special, like we had our own summer destination.  At the hotel, breakfast and dinner were included in the price.  We never thought about the prices (though once I did accidentally get a copy of a menu with prices and was slightly shocked), we just ordered whatever we wanted.  Dessert all the time.

One dessert option, which I thought was great around age seven, was a vanilla and mint ice cream sundae.  Another was bumbleberry pie.  Bumbleberry pie had an assortment of berries, along with apples, inside.  I thought it was great, and I’ve often made my own version for Thanksgiving.  Before I headed out on my trip, I was thinking about summer, and berry season, and I decided to whip up a quick, easy mixed berry crisp with apples, a la Opinicon Hotel’s Bumbleberry Pie.  If it’s not too hot to turn on your oven this summer, try this recipe with fresh mixed berries, or file it away until fall and use frozen!  Serve with ice cream for dessert, and eat the leftovers for breakfast.

crisp03a crisp01a

Bumbleberry Crisp

Makes about 4 servings

Ingredients

  • 2 cups mixed berries, fresh or frozen
  • 1 apple, chopped
  • zest and juice of 1 lemon or lime
  • 2 T cornstarch
  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1 T whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup chopped toasted walnuts
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 3 T canola or vegetable oil

Instructions

Preheat oven to 375ºF.  Find a large baking dish (I’ll be honest, I don’t know exactly what size mine was).

Mix together berries, apple, zest, juice and cornstarch.  Pour into the baking dish.  Now mix together the oats, brown sugar, flour, walnuts, cinnamon, and vegetable oil until all the ingredients are wet from the oil and the sugar is darker in color.  Spread over the berry mixture.  Bake in the oven until berries are very bubbly, about 50 minutes.

Posted to Happiness is Homemade, Totally Talented TuesdaysTasty Tuesdays, and Show & Share Wednesday!

8 thoughts on “Bumbleberry Crisp {Vegan}”

  1. This sounds amazing and now I know how to use all the berries in my fridge!! Thanks for sharing at Happiness is Homemade Link party, you are being featured so make sure to stop over on Sunday and grab our button!!!

Leave a Reply

