Bake on Saturday, Lunch & Dinner, Recipes

100% Whole Wheat Flatbread and Other Things

100% whole wheat flatbread or pita pockets!  A delicious and chewy way to get your serving of whole grains.

pita02a

Before we get to this week’s installment of Bake on Saturday, let’s get a couple of things out of the way first.  To start, I wrote a piece for McGill University Library’s journal of cookbook history and Canadian food culture, Cuizine (what a punny name!), and it was published in the latest edition!  Part of their series “Cooking the Books,” my piece is about attempting to make something called Vanity Cake from an 1868 cookbook.  You can read it online here!

Secondly, my time in Austria is coming to an end.  I’m leaving in just under two weeks.  I can’t believe how incredibly fast the past eight months have gone.  I’ve really enjoyed the chance to live in Austria, to pick up some of the oberösterreichischer Dialekt, to learn more about the culture, and even to attempt teaching middle schoolers English.  TAing at a college…not the high point.  I was offered a position for another year in a different city, but I’ve decided not to do that for many reasons.  As my date of departure gets nearer, I’m starting to feel a bit nostalgic.  That’s normal, though, right?

Leaving Austria brings me to point number three: I may be leaving Austria soon but I won’t be heading back home right away.  I’m off on two adventures before going back to the U.S.  I’ll be traveling some and then taking summer classes as part of an American summer abroad program (yes, I’m done with my degree but I’m also considering shifting fields slightly for grad school).  Because I’ll be moving about, I can’t promise that I’ll be able to keep posting recipes.  I’m trying to plan in advance since I know I may not have access to a kitchen for most of June and July, but you know how that is sometimes.  So if my posts get spotty in the coming weeks…you now know why.

Now, let’s get down to the real business, shall we?  100% Whole Wheat Flatbread.  I won’t say these came out perfectly, but since this blog chronicles my cooking and baking projects for me as much as it does for you, Reader, I decided to share this anyway.  I found these quite tasty and liked the texture even though they were missing one crucial element: they were supposed to be pitas with pockets and…well…most of them were pocket-less.

pita01a

The recipe below makes six pitas and only two of mine actually ended up having pockets.  I may not have rolled the dough thinly enough, or maybe my measurements were off a bit, I don’t know.  But my pitas were definitely lacking in pockets.  If you have any tips for making pita, please share them below!  I want to try making these again because I love the flavor from using all whole wheat flour.  Anyway, I’m going general and calling these flatbreads instead of pitas.  Pitas are indeed a type of flatbread, so it all works out.

Pitas have been on my list of things to bake for a long time, and I guess I can’t really cross them off the list until I get a whole batch with pockets.  After I got back from my trip to Sofia and where I had lots of Balkan food, I seriously wanted more.  What a great change from the meat and potatoes diet of Austria!  I’ve been experimenting with Balkan cuisine in my own kitchen and these flatbreads are just the first of the Balkan-inspired foods I’ve got lined up over the next few weeks!

100% Whole Wheat Flatbread

Adapted from Veg Recipes of India

Makes 6 pitas/flatbreads

Ingredients

  • 3 cups whole wheat flour, plus more for kneading
  • 1 1/4 cups warm water
  • 1/2 T active dry yeast
  • 1 1/2 T olive oil
  • 1/2 T salt
  • pinch sugar

Instructions

In a large bowl, activate yeast with 1/4 cup of the warm water and the sugar.  Let sit until bubbly, about 5 minutes.  Add remaining water, flour, olive oil, and salt, and stir to combine.  Turn onto a clean, floured surface and knead until you can begin to feel large bubbles forming in the dough, about 5 minutes.  Form the dough into a ball and place in a large, lightly oiled bowl.  Cover and set in a draft-free place to let rise until doubled.  This should take 1 to 1 1/2 hours.

After the dough has risen, gently deflate and turn onto a clean, lightly floured surface.  Divide the dough into six equal pieces.  Shape each into a ball, then flatten into a disk 6″ in diameter.  Let sit, covered, for about 10 minutes.  While the disks of dough are resting, preheat the oven to 400ºF.

Bake the flatbreads for about 7-10 minutes.  They should inflate in the oven.  Check the original recipe for instructions on cooking the flatbreads on the stovetop (this did not work for me).  Serve warm or room temperature!

Posted to Tasty Tuesdays, Totally Talented Tuesday, What’s Cookin’ Wednesday, and Happiness is Homemade!

Leave a Reply

