Bake on Saturday, Dessert, Recipes

Brown Sugar Banana Bread

Super moist banana bread, made healthier with whole wheat flour and yogurt!

banana bread03a

I think I hit my first true blogging rut last weekend.  I was trying to plan ahead for today’s post since as WordPress magically makes this appear online, the leftovers of this banana bread and I are in Sofia, Bulgaria chilling with a friend.  I had no idea what I wanted to share.  Sure, I have a longggg list (and by list I guess I really mean collection of pins) of things I want to bake or cook, but many of them get ruled out for various reasons when I plan my cooking projects.  I was at a loss.

Last Sunday I had to go over to the grocery store in the train station–the only one open on Sundays, and it’s not even a full grocery store, just a tiny one–because I hadn’t planned properly.  Some friends and I took a slightly spontaneous trip to Český Krumlov last Saturday and  because we left at 7 am and got back just before 9 pm, I had no time to get to the store.  However, my lack of planning turned out to be a good thing because what did an employee roll out as I was making my bread selection?  A whole shopping cart of beat up, seriously marked down bananas.

You know what that means.  Banana bread!  Isn’t banana bread great?  It can be breakfast, snack, or dessert.  What a versatile food.

banana bread01a

banana bread02a

This was my first time making banana bread in Austria.  At home it’s not something we make particularly often at home, but certainly any time we have overly ripe bananas, we whip up a batch of banana bread.  I remember banana bread being one of the things we have so many different recipes for in our recipe binder.  Pumpkin bread, too.  Despite that, I decided I would try out yet another recipe, a new one, instead of getting someone to scan the recipes from home.  I wanted to try and make a banana bread without oil or butter, one that was slightly healthier.  Brown sugar instead of white sounded like a fantastic idea, too, and with those perimeters I went off to find and test a new recipe.

So that’s what you have here.  This banana bread is made with whole wheat flour and low-fat yogurt, and has only 1/2 a cup of brown sugar, to make it just a bit better for you.  The chocolate chips, you ask?  Those are your antioxidants…

Brown Sugar Banana Bread

Adapted from Opera Girl Cooks

Makes 1 loaf

Ingredients

  • 3 small bananas
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup plain or vanilla low-fat yogurt
  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup white flour (or use 2 cups total whole wheat pastry flour)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 3/4 cup chopped toasted walnuts
  • 3/4 cup dark chocolate chips

Instructions

Preheat the oven to 350ºF.  Grease an 8″ or 9″ loaf pan (mine has silly European dimensions).

In a large bowls, mash your bananas.  I used a regular fork to do this.  Mix in the sugar, eggs, and yogurt.  Add the flours, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon and stir until completely incorporated.  Quickly mix in the chopped nuts and chocolate chips.

Pour into your greased loaf pan and use the back of a spoon or a spatula to make sure the batter is evenly distributed.

Bake for about 50-60 minutes, or into a skewer inserted into the center comes out clean (this loaf is a bit too deep for a toothpick!).

Posted to Merry MondayHappiness is HomemadeTotally Talented TuesdayWhat’s Cookin’ Wednesday, and Full Plate Thursday!

7 thoughts on “Brown Sugar Banana Bread”

  1. This sounds fabulous! I do the same thing when I have bananas around, either banana bread or hummingbird cake 🙂

  2. I LOVE making banana bread and I have a standard recipe that I always use, but I like that you made a healthy version. Would love if you shared this on the Merry Monday Linky Party. It goes live tonight at 9pm PST and runs till Thurs.

  3. Your Brown Sugar Banana Bread looks so rich and full of flavor! Thanks so much for sharing this awesome recipe with Full Plate Thursday. Hope you are having a great weekend and come back to see us real soon!
    Miz Helen

Leave a Reply

