Dessert, Recipes

Three-Ingredient Peanut Butter Eggs

The best part of my Easter is Reese’s Eggs…making your own is so simple and involves just three ingredients.  Chocolate+peanut butter forever! pb eggs04a Taxes, TA extensions, and summer classes, oh my!  I’ve been a bit overwhelmed with all three (having lived three different places in 2013 and had three different jobs means taxes are no fun, I can’t decide if I want to stay in Austria, and I’m in the process of signing up for summer classes) so THANK GOODNESS Easter break is coming up soon.  Austria, being a Catholic country, gives schools one-and-a-half or two weeks off for Easter.  While what I’m really looking forward to is not having to think about all those things starting on Sunday, it does mean that I’ve got to sort out at least taxes and the extension before I take off for Italy and Vienna. I’ve been offered an extension in a new city for the 2014-2015 school year but I’m itching a bit to do something different and I don’t know if moving to another city will offer that.  I really like some of my classes, some are just meh, and there is one that drives me crazy.  If I end up not liking my schools/fellow/teacher/students next year I know I won’t have any fun.  In theory, you should have fun at your job, right?  I go back and forth all the time about extending my TA-ship for another year.  That, along with making sure my taxes are in order (I think they are.  Maybe.) makes me really frustrated. The kitchen and I get along well and while I’m not the type of person to “eat my feelings,” I do feel comfortable there and like I don’t have to think about anything.  Good thing it’s almost Easter and making a copycat version of my favorite Easter candy is totally acceptable.  I am a firm believer that your cannot go wrong with the chocolate and peanut butter combination, so Reese’s have always been a favorite store-bought candy of mine.  And, like most things, they just seem so much more exciting when they come in cute shapes. pb eggs02a There are tons of copycat Reese’s eggs out there.  Lots of them include butter or milk or vanilla and…I don’t even know.  Things that I think are unnecessary.  I hope I don’t offend anyone by saying that, especially if you just posted a similar recipe on your blog.  All you need to make delicious chocolate-peanut butter egg-shaped treats a la Reese’s is chocolate, peanut butter, and powdered sugar.  Three things.  Plus some chopped roasted peanuts for topping, should you desire.  Seriously, these are so simple.  Make them for the chocolate-peanut butter lover in your life.  Make them on Easter instead (or in addition) to dyeing eggs!  See what other shapes you can make!  Bunnies?  Flowers? pb eggs01a

Three-Ingredient Peanut Butter Eggs

Makes 4 very large or 6 more normal sized eggs…or even more small eggs Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup peanut butter (I used way over-priced Skippy)
  • 1/4 cup powdered sugar
  • 3.5 oz chocolate, chopped (mine was 55% cacao)
  • optional: chopped roasted peanuts for decorating

Instructions Line a large plate or tray with parchment paper. In a small bowl, mix together the peanut butter and powdered sugar until thoroughly combined.  Add a little more peanut butter if is seems too dry, a little more powdered sugar if it’s too sticky or wet.  Dusting your hands with powdered sugar, shape spoonfuls of the mixture into eggs.  Reese’s eggs are usually flat, as so were mine, but do whatever you desire.  Place on the plate or try and freeze for about 25 minutes. As the 25 minutes draw to a close, melt your chocolate in a double boiler, being careful that no water gets into the chocolate.  Working quickly, coat each egg thoroughly in the melted chocolate.  I think it’s easiest to place the egg in and flip with a fork.  Let some of the excess chocolate drip off (while you hold the egg over the bowl!) then replace on the parchment lined sheet.  Sprinkle with chopped nuts, if desired.  Repeat with all eggs.  Let cool before eating. You will probably have some chocolate left over, I suggest covering peanuts in it or dipping pretzels, cookies, or graham crackers in it. I would store these in the fridge just to be safe, though they’ll be fine in Easter baskets for a few hours.  If they last that long.

Posted to Full Plate Thursday, Manic Monday, and Happiness is Homemade!

13 thoughts on “Three-Ingredient Peanut Butter Eggs”

  1. What a perfect Eater treat! I love Skippy, Super Chunk to be exact and I do miss Skippy when I don’t have it.

      1. Wow, so you can buy Skippy at the grocery store. Which store do you shop at? I will have to remember on our next trip down that way! I haven’t seen it here 😦

  2. Your Peanut Butter Eggs are great! Thank you so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday today, it is great to have you at the party. Hope you have a very special week and come back soon!
    Miz Helen

Leave a Reply

