Lunch & Dinner, Recipes

Yellow Curry {Vegan, Practically Recipe-less}

My own method for making a flavorful, easy, and quick vegan yellow curry!

curry03a 

You know how sometimes you get hooked on something and you just. can’t. stop?  I don’t mean drugs or anything like that so please don’t let your mind go there.  I mean things like researching a particular topic or eating the same thing for dinner because it’s too good and easy to consider making anything else.

I’ve got two stories for you today about recent obsessions of mine which–shockingly–fall into the two categories I mentioned above, and I’ll tackle them in that order.  I’m sort of the unofficial family historian for both sides of my family.  Since we’re having a big party to celebrate my grandparents’ 65th wedding anniversary later this year (which you may have noticed if you follow me on Pinterest) I decided last week to attempt to get the family tree into some presentable state to bring along.  Last week almost all my lessons were repeats, so I had more free time for other things.

Anyway, I took a stab at making my tree a bit less lopsided by seeing if I could flush out my grandfather’s side of the tree.  Guess what?  There so many original Norwegian records online I have made significant progress and my tree is now slightly more balanced.  I like to pretend I can read Norwegian because it’s sort of similar to German and to English.  I can’t stop looking for new possibilities for going back even further!  I hope my grandpa is as excited about it as I am when I finally get to show him everything I’ve found.  Now, if only I could find relevant caches of Czech records…

Similarly, I can’t stop making this vegan yellow curry.  About six weeks ago I went to an Vietnamese-Thai restaurant with some friends and ordered yellow curry.  It was so good that I immediately decided I had to get the proper ingredients to make it myself.

curry02a
Why yes, I did take this photo with lighting that no self-respecting food blogger would ever use…

This was actually my first time cooking with curry paste.  I’ve always known that curry paste is a thing, but I had never before used it in cooking.  At home we usually buy simmer sauces which are so easy but a little pricey.  Curry paste (not to sound like I’m obsessed with how much things cost) is so much more economical.  A tub of curry paste costs about the same as simmer sauce but makes way more servings.  Like, five times as many servings.  You simply heat the curry paste with some coconut milk and voila, you have a simmer sauce!

This is another one of my “practically recipe-less” recipes.  The instructions below are just an outline and an explanation of how I do it.  It’s really so simple and there are many other ways you could do this.  Take the “recipe” below as a suggestion and go crazy.

Yellow Curry

For one serving, I like to use the following ingredients:

  • 1 small onion
  • 1 T yellow curry paste
  • 1/3 can coconut milk (from a 14-oz can)
  • freshly grated ginger
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 cup cauliflower florets
  • 1 3-inch piece of zucchini, chopped into thick half moons
  • 1/4 cup canned chickpeas or 1 small parboiled potato
  • 1/3 cup thawed frozen spinach (measure when still frozen)
  • 1 plum tomato, sliced

Instructions

In a frying pan over medium heat, saute onion in flavorless oil (such as canola or vegetable oil).  When it starts to turn brown, add the curry paste, ginger, and coconut milk.  Simmer until the coconut milk has turned yellow and there are no lumps.

Add the cauliflower, zucchini, chickpeas or potato, and water.  Cover the pan using another pan, a lid, or a plate to allow the cauliflower and zucchini to steam.  When the cauliflower is just fork-tender, add the spinach and tomato and cook for another minute or two to allow the spinach and tomato to heat through.  You don’t want to add these too early as they are very easy to overcook.

Serve hot over rice!

Posted to Happiness is Homemade and Tasty Tuesdays!

9 thoughts on “Yellow Curry {Vegan, Practically Recipe-less}”

  1. I call those Bermuda Triangle foods, you get sucked into eating them every day and you don’t come back for a loong time. I have a few on my site that occasionally I get in ruts eating everyday. This looks delish! I actually make a similar curry, I use different vegetables in mine though. Will have I try out your combination!

  2. I love curries way too much and I’m obsessed with it. Green, red, spicy, vegetarian or not. I can’t wait to try this!!

Leave a Reply

