Bake on Saturday, Dessert, Recipes

Lemon-Zucchini Loaf

A dense, lemony loaf made with zucchini and topped with a sweet lemon glaze.

lemon zucchini loaf03a

Today is my mom’s birthday and if I were at home, I would be making some sort of layer cake to celebrate.  I’m not home, and won’t be for another few months, but nonetheless my mom’s birthday inspired me to make this cake.  Bread?  I’m not sure what the proper name for it is, hence why it’s simply called a Lemon-Zucchini Loaf.  It’s sweet but not super sweet and it has only a thin glaze rather than a full-on frosting…

Lemon (last I checked) is my mom’s favorite cake flavor, and she is all for hiding vegetables places you wouldn’t normally expect to find them.  I probably wouldn’t make this as a real birthday cake (birthday celebrations call for something more like this) but I would totally make this for a birthday breakfast or brunch or tea or…any day just because I wanted something lemony.  Last weekend the weather very briefly turned bad (cold and rainy) but it’s now definitely spring again, and what better way to celebrate spring–and birthdays–than with refreshing citrus flavors?

There is so much lemon flavor packed into this little loaf.  The loaf itself has both lemon juice and lemon zest, and the glaze is made with lemon juice, too.  If you’ve had zucchini bread before, you know the green veggie doesn’t dominate the flavor at all but lends a lot of moistness.  

lemon zucchini loaf02a

Besides the zucchini (and, I suppose, the lemon zest), this loaf is made from very basic ingredients that you probably have in your cupboard right now.  It’s a cinch to throw together but yields fantastic and delicious results.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, it’s 70ºF and sunny outside right now, so I’m going to go outside.

Lemon-Zucchini Loaf

Adapted from NancyCreative

Makes 1 – 9×5″ or 8×4″ loaf

Ingredients

  • 2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/3 cup canola oil
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk (or milk that has been soured with vinegar)
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • zest of 1 lemon
  • 1 cup grated zucchini (this was about 3/4 of a medium-ish zucchini for me)

For the Glaze

  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 1-2 T lemon juice

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350ºF.  Grease and flour your loaf pan.

In a large bowl, mix together flour, baking powder, sugar, and salt.  In a small bowl, whisk together eggs, oil, buttermilk, lemon juice, and lemon zest.  Add the wet ingredients to the dry, stirring until fully incorporated.

Fold the grated zucchini into the batter and mix just until everything is combined–don’t overmix.

Pour the batter into your prepared loaf pan.

Bake for 40-50 minutes or until lightly golden brown and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out mostly clean.  Allow to cool fully before glazing.

For the glaze: Sift powdered sugar into a small bowl.  Mix in lemon juice, a little bit at a time, until you reach the desired consistency (this is always a little bit thicker than you think it should be).  Pour over the cooled loaf.  Be sure the loaf is sitting on something like a plate or pan to catch drips!

Posted to Happiness is Homemade and Tasty Tuesdays!

12 thoughts on “Lemon-Zucchini Loaf”

  1. Oh yum!!! I have made lemon and zucchini (or courgettes as we Brits like to call em!) loaf before – anything a little unusual is good by me and this is decilious. Your’s looks way better than mine with the icing though – you’ve inspired me!

  2. my birthday cake is in the oven! of course, i had to make a few substitutions, but i promise i measured everything. well, almost everything…. i’ll let you know how it comes out!

  3. I made it too. It was not as beautiful as The Wordy Baker’s, but delicious. I added fresh ginger, which I think was a nice touch.

Leave a Reply

