Recipes

French Toast in a Bowl {Microwave Bread Pudding}

Why stand at the stove making french toast when you can simply make this delicious breakfast (or dessert) in the microwave in just a few minutes?  

french toast in a bowl01

There is a TV in my kitchen/living room but I don’t watch it very often, usually only when my roommate and I watch a movie together.  However, the Austrians are extremely fond of old America TV shows (dubbed in German, of course) and there is one channel that plays them basically from lunch time until late at night.  Sometimes I turn on the TV while cooking lunch, and Monday I did this with secret hopes that Gilmore Girls would be playing.

Well, I turned on the TV and Gilmore Girls was not on.  I flipped to the right channel and there was a man’s back, in late 19th-century frontier garb.  “Hey, it’s that guy!” I thought to myself.  Descriptive, I know, right?  I’m terrible with actor’s names, but now that I’ve looked up his name I can tell you: Michael Landon.  Yes.  Pa.  Unsere Kleine Farm (“Our Little Farm,” the German title for the Little House series) was on TV.  In German.

Now, if you’ve been following me for a while or read my “About” page, you may know that I have a long-standing fascination with Laura Ingalls Wilder.  This fascination, however, does not extend to the TV show.  It aired way before my time and I always saw it as a bastardization of my beloved Little House books.  So Monday’s viewing was the first time I had ever seen it.  Despite my beliefs (and semi-hatred of the show, I mean, Pa doesn’t even have a beard!), I was hooked.  Having never seen it, I really wanted to know how exactly they had screwed everything up.  Plus, I was practicing German, right?

The episode opened with Pa and someone named Jonathan fixing a mill.  What?  There has never been a Jonathan and never any mills, unless they were hand-cranked coffee mills.  THEN Laura was kidnapped by a woman whose daughter had recently died.  And Mrs. Olson (or Oleson, as the TV show spells it) runs a store, which is a little ridiculous because I’m fairly certain she couldn’t speak any English.  And did I mention Pa has no beard?

All that being said, it was actually kind of entertaining.  A second episode came on but I stopped paying attention.  I don’t know if it would have been as entertaining in English.  And I will still always judge people who say they are huge Little House fans but mean the TV series and not the books.  That’s just the way it is.

french toast in a bowl03a

Anyway, recipe?  Yes, I have one of those today, too, to go with my story.  Well, it doesn’t actually go very well with it, but I’ve decided to make this terrible segue into talking about French Toast in a Bowl or, as the original recipe calls it, Microwave Bread Pudding.  After eating some of my brioche, I let the rest sit a few days too long and it dried out a little.  Not wanting to waste food, I kept it hoping that I would find a use for it.  What a great use I stumbled upon.

French toast is great, really.  But you have to stand there flipping all the pieces (depending on the size of your pan, and mine isn’t very big).  And putting things in a bowl makes them seem more exotic and fun.  “All the flavors of french toast in a bowl,” doesn’t that sound more interesting than just “french toast”?  This French Toast in a Bowl is so easy, quick, and tasty, and it’s a great way to use up stale bread.  I made mine with vanilla, cinnamon, and raisins, but you can of course make any changes that you want.  I ate mine for breakfast but you can eat yours for dessert or a snack, whatever you please!

French Toast in a Bowl {Microwave Bread Pudding}

From King Arthur Flour

Ingredients

  • 1 cup cubed bread (about 1 1/2 slices of bread), slightly stale is good
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup milk (I used skim)
  • 1-2 tablespoons granulated sugar
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
  • optional: small handful raisins or other dried fruit, chopped nuts, or chocolate chips
  • optional, for topping: maple syrup or powdered sugar

Instructions

Place bread cubes in a microwave-safe bowl or ramekin.

In another small bowl, whisk together the egg, milk, sugar, vanilla, and cinnamon.  Pour the egg mixture over the bread crumbs and stir to make sure all the bread cubes are coated.  Let sit 2-3 minutes to allow the bread to soak up the egg mixture.  Stir again, then microwave on high for 1-2 minutes until set.

On my microwave it takes about 2 minutes, but it all depends on the microwave.  Let it cook for one minute, and then begin checking every 15 seconds or so.  I suggest cooking it slightly longer than you think necessary, as the egg at the very bottom of the bowl is the last thing to cook.

Top with maple syrup or powdered sugar, if desired, and serve immediately.

Posted to What’s Cookin’ Wednesday!

2 thoughts on “French Toast in a Bowl {Microwave Bread Pudding}”

Leave a Reply

