Daring Kitchen, Lunch & Dinner, Recipes

Carrot-Ginger Dressing {Daring Kitchen}

For March’s Daring Cooks’ Challenge, Ruth, Shelley and Sawsan asked us to totally veg out! We made salads and dressings, letting the sky be the limit as we created new flavors and combinations that reflect our own unique tastes.

salad02a

I’ll be honest, I’m usually always a salad-from-the-bottle kind of person.  Either that or I literally just pour a little balsamic vinegar over my salad.  Making my own dressing seems like an unnecessary step, for some reason, though there are plenty of other things I would never consider just buying from the store.  However, when the Daring Kitchen announced that the March challenge was to make salad dressing, I knew pretty quickly what kind of dressing I was going to try making.

There’s this Japanese restaurant in my hometown that we go to for almost all family birthdays or back-to-school/home-from-school dinners.  Their tofu teriyaki is so amazing–and comes with miso soup and a salad, as most of their dishes do.  The salad, like those at many Asian restaurants, is topped with a thick ginger salad dressing.  I had no idea what the other ingredients would be, but I almost always have ginger root on hand, so it seemed like an easy enough dressing to tackle.

It turns out that carrots give the dressing it’s body.  This recipe involves a lot of grating–grated carrots, grated ginger, grated garlic.  If you have a food processor, you could probably make easier on yourself by using that instead of doing it by hand.  The resulting dressing gives a simple salad tons of flavor.  This would be great, I think, to top a chopped salad with some cold grilled chicken but I had none on hand, so I used my dressing to top a salad made of lettuce, tomatoes, cauliflower, and zucchini.

Oh, and happy Pi Day!  Sorry I don’t have a pie recipe for you…but instead you can read this post I wrote about mathematician-related historic sites!

salad01a

Carrot-Ginger Dressing

Adapted from The Little Epicurean

Makes about 1 cup of dressing

Ingredients

  • 1 small carrot, finely grated
  • 1/2 small yellow onion, minced or grated
  • 2 inch piece of ginger, minced or grated
  • 1 clove garlic, minced or grated
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1 T tomato paste
  • 1 T apple cider or rice wine vinegar
  • 1 T sesame oil
  • 1/2 tsp honey
  • 1-2 T water, if needed, to reach desired consistency

Instructions

Whisk together all ingredients until incorporated, or for a smoother texture, mix in a blender or food processor.

Pour over your favorite salad and enjoy!

Posted to Happiness is HomemadeSweet and Savoury Sunday, and Manic Monday!

5 thoughts on “Carrot-Ginger Dressing {Daring Kitchen}”

  1. I don’t usually make my own dressing either. But this dressing is making me reconsider that silly decision. Looks so easy and sounds delicious.

  2. I love salads, I have one each night. This dressing sounds great. Thanks for linking up to Sweet and Savoury Sunday, stop by and link up with us again this weekend, I’d love to see you there Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

