Bake on Saturday, Dessert, Recipes

Dark Chocolate Snack Cake

A quick one-bowl loaf cake rich in chocolate flavor with a unique texture from almond meal!

dark choc cake02a

This Dark Chocolate Snack Cake is a recipe I developed a few years ago to appease chocolate cake cravings using ingredients that I had lying around.  Because it needs no frosting, is baked in a loaf tin rather than a cake pan, and isn’t too terrible in terms of calorie count, I’ve decided that it is an acceptable mid-morning snack as well as a good dessert.

Ok, Reader, after Wednesday’s long post, I’ll try and keep today’s short!  Now, last summer I posted many, many chocolate cake recipes, but I haven’t shared one in a few months so I figured it was about time that a new one went up on the blog.  I’ve said it before, I’ll say it again: there is no such thing as too many chocolate cake recipes.  Or too much chocolate cake, for that matter.

This one is so easy to throw together–this is a cake I made many evenings in my little studio apartment while studying abroad.  It’s the perfect thing to fulfill any yearnings for a rich, chocolate-y dessert.  It’s dark and feels decadent without being laden with too many terrible-for-you ingredients.  Almond meal gives the cake a large crumb and a unique texture, oil ensures the cake stays moist.  A pinch of cinnamon pairs perfectly with the chocolate.  Topped with a sprinkling of powdered sugar, this cake is sure to please!

(It may do so much pleasing that some is eaten before there is time to photograph it.)

Dark Chocolate Snack Cake

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup almond meal
  • 1/2 cup Dutch cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup oil (vegetable or olive, whatever you’ve got)
  • 1/2 cup skim milk mixed with 1 tsp vinegar
  • optional: 1/2 cup chocolate chips

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350ºF.  Grease an 8×4″ loaf pan.

In a large bowl, mix together the dry ingredients.  Make a well in the center.  Pour oil, egg, and milk into the well and stir quickly until fully incorporated.  Add chocolate chips, if using.

Bake about 40 minutes or until a skewer inserted into the center comes out clean.

Posted to A Peek Into My Paradise’s Happiness Is Homemade, Sweet and Savoury Sundays, Mandy’s Recipe Box’s Totally Talented Tuesday, Miz Helen’s Country Cottage’s Full Plate Thursday, and the Friday PinFest!

11 thoughts on “Dark Chocolate Snack Cake”

  1. Thanks for sharing at the Happiness Is Homemade Link Party! Pinning to the party board and can’t wait to see what happiness posts you share next week! Have a terrific week!
    Cathy
    APeekIntoMyParadise.com

  2. Good Morning Hallie, I have to agree with you. A girl can never have too much chocolate….. yes you have guessed it, I am a chocolate lover as well. I am really interested in this recipe and look forward to trying it. I noticed that you used almond meal….. I’m not sure what that is….. is it what we call ground almonds?
    Once I have sorted out almond meal, I will be up and ready to make this Dark Chocolate Snack, as I have the other ingredients in my store cupboard.
    I have enjoyed my visit….. and I adore your header, so I have become a new follower.
    Best Wishes
    Daphne

    1. Hi Daphne,

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting! Glad you agree with me that there is so such thing as too much chocolate.

      Yes, ground almonds and almond meal are the same thing. You can buy it at some grocery stores or make your own by simply grinding some almonds in a food processor or blender.

      Best of luck!

  3. Hmmm sounds scrummy, I love snacking on a little cake and this one sounds perfect for doing just that! Thanks for sharing on Sweet and Savoury Sundays, stop by and share with us again this weekend!

  4. What a great snack cake we will really enjoy this treat. Thank you so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday and hope you are having a great week.
    Come Back Soon!
    Miz Helen

Leave a Reply

