Recipes

Single-Serve Coffee Cake {Vegan}

A single-serve super moist coffee cake with orange zest, vanilla, and brown sugar that can be made in the microwave.  Because sometimes you need a treat just for you. 

coffee cake01a

I know they say you eat with your eyes first and I’m not helping that too much here but, um, I had some technical difficulties.  I still wanted to share this recipe, though.  I blame my lack of muffin tins/ramekins.  I’ve been wanting to try this recipe and so I decided to see if an idea I had would work…and it did, I just got a very weirdly-shaped coffee cake.

You are probably wondering now what sort of container I used.  Well, I used this little cup to bake my coffee cake rather than a ramekin or muffin tin, which is what you should use.  Luckily, in this case (and I think in most cases) shape does not affect taste, even if or childhood selves were so sure that it did.  I got the cup when I purchased a fancy chocolate pudding that was 50% off because it was almost at it’s sell-by date.  The chocolate pudding was so good (and reminded me of my mom, who sometimes makes chocolate pudding and tops it with Kahlua when she is craving dessert but for some reason there are no baked goods in the house), but I also like the packaging a lot.  Oh, consumerist societies.  At least I’ve found another use for it!

coffee cake04

Moving on to the coffee cake itself.  Most of the time nowadays I cook just for me, though when I’m home I cook/bake for the whole family.  Sunday breakfasts are actually scheduled “family time” when both my sister and I are home, so at home I eat a lot of muffins and coffee cake.  But sometimes you just need something you can make for yourself, no sharing.  Enter: single-serve coffee cake!  Super moist and packed with flavor from brown sugar, vanilla extract, and orange zest.

Best of all, this can be made in the microwave.  I know that lots of things can be cooked or baked in the microwave but this actually tastes good when microwaved!  No rubbery mess, just a light, moist cake!

To make up for the not-so-great food photos this week, I’ll leave you with a photo from a hike I went on in Austria’s Salzkammergut (Lake District) a week and a half ago.

P1040285

Single-Serve Coffee Cake

adapted from Chocolate-Covered Katie, check the original for healthy substitutes

For the coffee cake batter

  • 3 T all-purpose flour, or 1/2 white and 1/2 whole wheat, or spelt flour
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • pinch salt
  • 1 T brown sugar (I used dark brown)
  • 1 T + 2 tsp water
  • 2 tsp oil
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • zest of 1/2 a small orange

For the streusel

  • 1 1/4 tsp brown sugar (I used dark brown)
  • 1 T rolled oats
  • 1/4 to 1/2 tsp oil
  • pinch cinnamon

For the frosting (optional)

  • 1/2 tsp water or freshly squeezed orange juice
  • 1/2 T powdered sugar

Instructions

If baking in the oven, preheat to 330ºF.  Grease a muffin tin or ramekin.

Mix together coffee cake batter ingredients in a small bowl.  Pour into tin.

Mix together streusel ingredients in another small bowl.  Sprinkle over batter.

Bake for 12-15 minutes, or use the microwave.  Microwave times will vary, but it should be around one minute.

While baking, mix together frosting ingredients.  Once the coffee cake is done, let cool for a few minutes before removing from tin and topping with frosting.

Posted to A Peek Into My Paradise’s Happiness is Homemade and Buns in My Oven’s What’s Cookin’ Wednesday!

1 thought on “Single-Serve Coffee Cake {Vegan}”

  1. What a creative way to bake your cake. When you need that treat, you just can’t let little things like lack of ramekins get in the way. Love all the flavors in this cake. And it’s single serving!!!!

Leave a Reply

