Dessert, Recipes

Chocolate Bar Bites

These chocolate bar bites have all the makings of a perfect chocolate bar but are quick and easy to make!

chocolate bar bites05My sister made the mistake last week of telling me about the show The Great British Bake Off.  It’s a BBC program where amateur bakers compete to be crowned the best amateur baker in Britain by making of variety of baked goods, from breads to pastries to puddings (a word for which the British really need to decide one specific meaning).  Each week they tackle a series of three challenges until one baker remains.

Telling me about the show was a really bad thing, as I get hooked on cooking shows.  I like the informational shows and the competitions and the ones that combine food and travel.  I watch the Food Network and The Cooking Channel any chance I get (not often, basically only when I visit my cousins or stay in a hotel).  Even though we’ve never had cable, sometimes my sister and I would get to watch the cooking shows on Sunday afternoons on PBS, programs with Julia Child, Jacques Pepin, and Lidia Bastianich.  No young, glamorous celeb chefs like on Food Network.

Anyway, watching The Great British Bake Off just makes me want to go experiment a lot in the kitchen.  Unfortunately, a lot of the challenges involve special equipment and my kitchen here, while quite a nice kitchen, is lacking all but the essentials.  Instead, I thought I’d make a no-bake treat I’ve been contemplating for a while: Chocolate Bar Bites.  These have everything you’d expect from a good chocolate or candy bar but none of the mystery ingredients.  Just rich dark chocolate, buttery caramel, and crunchy toasted almonds.

chocolate bar bites02

If you couldn’t tell from the balance of recipes on my blog, I enjoy making and eating desserts and I really like chocolate.  But most of the time one little piece of dark chocolate is all I need to fill that after dinner chocolate craving, and these fit the bill perfectly.

What’s more, these are super easy to make.  No equipment needed except a freezer zip-top bag or a piping bag.  And if your pantry looks anything like mine, you’ve got all the ingredients you need in there already.

Chocolate Bar Bites

Makes about 20 bites

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup dark chocolate chips or chopped dark chocolate (I used 60%)
  • a few tablespoons caramel sauce, at a spoonable temperature
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped toasted almonds (or use walnuts, pecans, peanuts…)

Instructions

Place a sheet of wax or parchment paper on a flat surface such as a table or baking sheet.

Melt your chocolate.  You can do this the traditional way in a double boiler, but I find it easier to place the chocolate chips in one corner of a zip-top freezer bag, removing any air from the bag.  Using a freezer bag is important because they can withstand heat better than regular sandwich zip-top bags.  Place the sealed bag in a bowl, pot, or tupperware–for extra insurance that no water gets in, I like to leave the zipped end fully outside the bowl.  Then pour hot but not boiling water over the bag.  Let sit for a few minutes, then squish it around a bit to see if the chocolate chips have melted all the way.

P1030503a

Once all the chocolate chips are melted, cut off the corner of the bag and use like you would a piping bag.  Form circles on the wax or parchment paper of about 1 3/4 to 2 inches in diameter.  Let sit for 5 to 10 minutes.  Next, spoon a small amount of caramel sauce in the center of each circle, about 1/4 tsp.  Place chopped nuts on top of the caramel and gently press down.  Let cool completely.

Store in a cool place or in the fridge.

Posted to Saturday Night Fever, Mostly Homemade Mom’s Show and Share Wednesday, and A Peek Into My Paradise’s Happiness Is Homemade!

10 thoughts on “Chocolate Bar Bites”

  1. It is moderately problematic how much time I spend watching the Food Network haha. These look great and super easy! I love how they’re the perfect size for an after dinner treat.

  2. Oh girl! These look yummy! THANK YOU so much for sharing at Happiness Is Homemade! Pinning to the party board! I truly can’t wait to see what you link up next week! I’m SO glad you party with us each week! Thanks for the link back to the party!
    Cathy
    APeekIntoMyParadise.com

  3. I’ve never seen the GB Bakeoff, but we have versions of it here in the US. I’m like you and always find them inspirational and make me want to try new food combinations. These chocolate bites look delicious and I love how simple they are. 🙂

Leave a Reply

