Recipes

My 2013 Favorites

Happy New Year!  I hope everyone’s 2014 is already off to a great start.  I celebrated last night with some friends watching the fireworks and trying not to get hit by fireworks being set off in the street (which is legal here in Austria).  What did you do?

Happy New Year

Yesterday, as 2013 came to a close, I shared a recipe round-up of reader favorites from the past year.  Thanks to everyone who has viewed the blog and made the recipes from yesterday’s post reach Top 10 status.

Today I’m sharing my Top 5 favorites from the blog.  I don’t think I could begin to put these into an official order of how much I love them, but these recipes are the ones I’m most excited about getting back in the kitchen and making again and again.  And again.

Let’s start off with something that was also on the Top 10 most viewed list: No-Churn Oreo Cheesecake Ice Cream.  I’ll try not to wax poetic about it, as I feel I’ve done that already, though it does deserve praise.  Creamy, sweet, tangy, chocolate-y, and requires no ice cream maker?  What could be better?

icecream05

Now, for something a little more seasonally appropriate.  These Hamburger Buns/Dinner Rolls are such a classic and are perfect for any dinner table, be it Christmas or the Fourth of July.  Why the double name?  This versatile recipe can be made with white or a combo of white and whole-wheat flours and can be shaped either for burgers or as soft and chewy tear-apart rolls.

buns fresh from the oven

This next recipe was only posted last week: Goat Cheese and Honey Flammkuchen.  My take on an Alsatian tarte flambee, inspired by a restaurant in Linz, pairs creamy goat cheese with sweet honey and spicy arugula, all on a crust made with whole-wheat flour.

flammkuchen02

In 2013 I finally conquered the delicate French sandwich cookie, the macaron, and shared the recipe in July.  I made Classic Macarons with almond flour and a dark chocolate ganache.  Though they may seem intimidating, they really aren’t difficult and they are just perfectly elegant.

macaron tower

Lastly, I have to include the very first recipe I posted: (Almost) Whole-Wheat Muffins.  As I discuss in the post, the recipe is a slight variation on what has been my go-to muffin recipe since I first learned to cook.  It’s quick, customizable, and tasty!

muffins02

 

So, Reader, all the best for 2014!  I’d love to hear what you want to see more of on here on The Wordy Baker in the coming year.  My blog is still quite young, and I want to how I can make it a better resource.  

Don’t forget, you can follow me on Twitter, follow my blog via e-mail (link in the sidebar), and check out my Flickr, Fridgg, and Bloglovin profiles to stay connected!  You can always reach me at thewordybaker(at)gmail(dot)com.

4 thoughts on “My 2013 Favorites”

  1. Happy new year!! I wish I had fireworks. We had a low key night but watched the fireworks on tv. I’m so glad I found your blog this year. Love making macarons and I’m glad it’s one of your favorites too!

Leave a Reply

