Bake on Saturday, Dessert

Marzipan-Stuffed Nutella Cookies

I got the inspiration from these from the Mozartkugeln you can buy in Salzburg–the kind in the silver wrapper with their wonderful combination of dark chocolate, hazelnut, and marzipan.  As I’m terrible at making up cookie and cake recipes completely from scratch, I went searching around to see if anyone else had tried it, and found just a few versions.  I have a feeling if the candies were more widely available there would be more people trying to copy them at home.  Anyway, this recipe looked pretty close to what I was envisioning.

Chocolate cookies go great with Christmas presents.
Chocolate cookies go great with Christmas presents (thanks, Ma!).

I’m posting this recipe not because it came out exactly like I expected it to, but because I’m curious as to how it will turn out for other people and because I said I’d post three cookie recipes this week as I know everyone is in the Christmas cookie frenzy at present.  And I have so many cookies in my apartment right now that I really can’t bake any more.  AND because even though it isn’t what I was going for, this cookie reminds me so much of the Dutch Fudge Cookies I used to adore when I was little.  I cannot for the life of me remember the brand of this cookie, but they came in a little red paper box and were glorious chewy chocolate cookie discs covered in sugar.  ShopRite has a version as well.  Anyone know what I’m talking about?  The fact that this cookie came out so much like one of my childhood favorites was definitely a nice surprise.

You can’t go wrong with Nutella, cocoa powder, butter, sugar, and marzipan, even though the final product was far from my original idea.  They just spread so much more than I was expecting.  I didn’t make many changes from the original recipe, but my adding Nutella to the dough may be the culprit of the spreading cookie mystery.  The “stuffed” aspect got sort of lost among the mass of cookie surrounding it.  If you do make these (which you should go do, then come back and leave me a comment), I would suggest going for a marzipan disc in the center rather than a marzipan ball like I did.  Or the marzipan will just be a nice treat hidden somewhere in the cookie.

choc cookies03

This is the last cookie I’m posting as part of the pre-Christmas cookie baking extravaganza that is taking place pretty much worldwide (earlier this week I shared recipes for Almond Meal Cookies and Vegan Lebkuchen).  If you’re looking for some other holiday baking ideas, why not try a Gingerbread Cake or a Flourless Chocolate Cake or some Chocolate Meringues?

Happy baking!

Marzipan-Stuffed Nutella Cookies

Makes 12-15 large cookies

Adapted from Fake Food Free

Ingredients

  • 3/4 stick butter (that’s 6 T)
  • 2 T Nutella, plus more for stuffing (about another 2 – 4 T)
  • 2/3 cup demerara sugar, plus more for rolling (sugar for rolling optional)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 T unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup + 2 T flour (I used a combination of white and whole wheat)
  • about 3 oz marzipan, rolling into 12-15 balls or small discs

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350ºF.  Place your Nutella for stuffing in the fridge or freezer while you mix the dough to make it less sticky.

In a large bowl, cream butter, sugar, and 2 T Nutella until fluffy.  Add egg and vanilla and beat until even fluffier and much lighter in color.  Add cocoa powder, baking soda, salt, and flour, and mix until fully incorporated.

Take a large scoop of dough and form it into a ball, then flatten.  Place a small amount of Nutella in the center (about 1/4 – 1/2 tsp), then place one marzipan disc/ball on top of that.  Roll the cookie dough back around the Nutella and marzipan.  If rolling the cookies in sugar, roll the cookie in sugar before placing on an ungreased cookie sheet and gently flattening.  Leave room for cookies to spread.

Bake for 15-20 minutes (but check after 10 minutes in case yours don’t end up being as large as mine were!).  Let cool slightly before removing from the pan.

Posted to Serendipity and Spice’s Manic Monday and Sugar Bee’s Take-A-Look Tuesday!

8 thoughts on “Marzipan-Stuffed Nutella Cookies”

  1. You are right, there is no way you can go wrong with these cookies. Glad you posted the recipe. Hope you have a happy holiday season!

  2. Wow. Mozartkugeln were another fave of mine from my time in Germany (and visitng Austria, obviously) – the Germans have a very healthy relationship with marzipan which we definitely need to develop in the UK cos its amazing!

  3. I think the cookies you’re thinking of are Archway Dutch cocoa cookies. I LOVED them as a kid. I don’t think they sell that variety anymore.

Leave a Reply

