Recipes

Recipes I Love: Top 5

Reader, if you follow this blog regularly (you can follow through your WordPress Reader, via e-mail, or BlogLovin!) you will know that I missed my usual Saturday post.

And I was just going to let it slide by, but then I thought of my blog sitting on the Internet, feeling forgotten and lonely.

I decided that wasn’t a good thing.

So this Sunday I’m bringing you a quick recipe round-up.  Several blogs I follow post weekly or monthly round-ups of recipes or other related content, such as The Minimalist Baker’s monthly segment called What We’re Into or The Wednesday Chef’s Friday Link Love.

Without further ado, let me introduce you to The Wordy Baker’s Recipes I Love, a round-up of recipes that I think require no adaptation.

Recipes I Love

I know, I know, I’ve often spoken of how I don’t use recipes a lot when I cook just for myself or how it’s difficult for me to just leave well enough alone.  But sometimes leaving well enough alone has wonderful, delicious results.  Today I’m sharing with you my top five (at present, at least) recipes from around the web, in approximate order by the number of times I’ve made each recipe.

5. This absolutely delicious butter chicken which originally comes from Aida Mollenkamp’s book Keys to the Kitchen but which I stumbled across on Simmer and Shoot.  It’s got a great balance of spices, uses a relatively cheap cut of chicken, and takes only one pan.  What more could you ask for?

4. Kalyn’s Kitchen’s Spicy Vegan Peanut Butter Tofu with Sriracha is so yummy, I swear it will turn all non-tofu eaters into tofu-lovers.  I mean, I’m sure the sauce is great on chicken, too, but it’s super tasty on crispy tofu, and Kalyn’s tofu cooking instructions make the recipe easy to follow.

3. We’ve all been there: the microwave mug cake/brownie/cookie.  My favorite is by far this mug-sized Crazy Cake from Sweet Little Bluebird.  It’s vegan, which means you don’t have to worry about eggs turning your microwaved treat into a rubbery mess, and it uses ingredients that I always have on hand.  The latter is probably a bad thing.

2. Though I grew up on Joy of Cooking’s pancake recipe, the Minimalist Baker’s Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookie Pancakes are definitely near the top of my pancake list.  The recipe makes 1 – 2 servings and has a whole banana, old-fashioned oats, and no refined sugar for a great start to the day.  I guess I do usually make some changes to the recipe though, if we’re being honest–I leave out the almond butter and if I’m using a real egg (i.e. not making them vegan) I also leave out the oil.

1. And my number one, Smitten Kitchen’s so-called Biggest Birthday Cake Yet!  I’ve scaled back the recipe to make eighteen cupcakes or  a layer cake and it’s my go-to chocolate cake.  It has a hint of cinnamon and coffee which really adds depth of flavor.  Plus, cake.  Enough said.

That’s all for now, folks*!   I’ll be back later in the week with new recipes to share.

Do you have any favorite recipes that you never change?  Please share them with me in the comments below!

*On a side note, I had a really hard time trying to explain when it is appropriate to address a general population as “folks” to one of my students the other day.

4 thoughts on “Recipes I Love: Top 5”

  1. I love this new feature. I’ve always wanted to do a collection like this but never thought I could. I am loving that butter chicken, just pinned it. Thanks for introducing me to that new blog!!

Leave a Reply

