Bake on Saturday, Dessert, Recipes

Bake on Saturday: Nutella Swirl Blondies

Reader, have you seen the movie 1776?  You know that scene where Thomas Jefferson is trying to write the Declaration and keeps getting frustrated, crumpling up his papers, and throwing them on the floor?

Well, that’s sort of how I feel about this blog post.  If I actually wrote out my drafts long-hand rather than composing them in my head or in this little box that WordPress provides me to write in, my floor would look like TJeff’s.  Then Ben Franklin and John Adams would come in and be like, “You haven’t finished this yet?!”

blondies02

I’ve been writing and rewriting this post in my head for the past few days.  I thought about telling you all how I’ve been a little homesick lately, or how the weather suddenly turned cold halfway through the week, or how I sort of tried to use these blondies to Win Friends and Influence People.  I also thought about telling you how bank holidays in Austria (and Germany, for that matter) are incredibly bizarre and everything is closed.  Everything.  Yesterday was Allerheiligen (All Saints’ Day) and last Saturday was the National Holiday.  Even bakeries, which are usually open Sundays when everything else is closed, were closed for these holidays.   I could also tell you about in the Volksgarten they have already begun to set up for the Weihnachtsmarkt.  Then I was going to complain about how Christmas isn’t supposed to happen until after Thanksgiving, but when you don’t have Thanksgiving…

Anyway, rather than picking one of those topics to write about you’ve just gotten a brief glimpse of the thoughts that have been running through my head lately.

Oh, and if you’re planning a trip soon (or just like reading about travel), be sure to check out my latest post on the Adventures in Preservation blog: Eight Ways to Add Architecture to Your Holiday!  And don’t forget, you can follow me using your WordPress account or by e-mail (see sidebar at the right) so that you will never miss a new post, or find me on Twitter!

Nutella Swirl Blondies

Adapted from my mom’s Congo Cookie recipe

Ingredients

  • 7 T butter, melted
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar (raw sugar will do, but brown sugar is way better)
  • 1 packet vanilla sugar or 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 egg + 1 egg yolk
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 3/8 cups all purpose flour
  • 4-6 T Nutella or your favorite chocolate nut butter (adjust to what you think looks right!)

Instructions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.  Line an 8 x 8 inch pan with aluminum foil and grease it.  Note: you may look at the photos above and say to yourself “Wait, that’s a rectangle!  It can’t be 8 x 8!”  You would be correct.  It’s some weird metric size like 7.4 x 8.7 or something, but 8 x 8 should do the trick.

In a large bowl, mix melted butter and sugar(s).  Add in the eggs, and the vanilla, if using.  Stir in flour and baking powder.

Pour the batter into your prepared pan and use a rubber spatula to spread it evenly.  Drop scoops of Nutella in two lines along the pan, then use a butter knife to swirl the Nutella into the batter.

Bake for about 20 minutes.  Let cool, then remove from the pan and slice.

Posted to Serendipity and Spice’s Manic Monday, Mostly Homemade Mom’s Show & Share Wednesday, and A Southern Fairytale’s Mouthwatering Monday!

5 thoughts on “Bake on Saturday: Nutella Swirl Blondies”

  1. Oh my! I am just thinking about Blondies and I am so glad I found this. I am bookmarking this and I am gonna try this very soon. 😉 Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

