Bake on Saturday, Recipes

Bake on Saturday: Spiced Apple Biscuits

The weather has been surprisingly warm this past week.  Each day has hit at least 60 degrees Fahrenheit, even on those days when the sun hasn’t come out.  Some days have been 70.  I’ve been seriously confused about what clothing to wear.  My brain says “It’s almost November!  You need to take your jacket with you!” and then I go out and just carry it with me because I don’t need it.  On sunny days I usually spend several hours sitting in the sun with my book (um, Kindle) because I know this lovely weather won’t last forever.  European winters tend to be rainy and gray, in my experience.

Yes, October is definitely coming to an end.  I’ve done lessons on Halloween.  While not my favorite holiday, it is certainly very American.  Some of my students had actually gone trick-or-treating in their Austrian hometowns, which surprised me a little!  However, no one knew what candy corn was, and IMHO I don’t think they’re missing out on that one.

apple biscuits02My initial plan was to make pumpkin scones, but when I got my pumpkin puree out of the fridge, it didn’t smell quite right so I decided not to risk it.  This was, of course, after I had measured out all the dry ingredients.  Hence, the pumpkin pie spice in the recipe.  Good thing apples and pumpkins both thrive in an atmosphere of cinnamongingercloves, and nutmeg.

Now, I’m calling these biscuits though the original recipe called them scones.  I still made mine scone-shaped, but after eating them I think they’re more of a biscuit.  Or maybe just a hearty scone.  These are low-sugar and most of the sweetness comes when you get a bite of apple.  That being said, they aren’t the kind of biscuit I would serve for dinner.  They’re the type that are great for breakfast, brunch, or maybe afternoon tea.  I would’ve glazed mine except I had no powdered sugar–so many kitchen blunders with this recipe!

apple biscuits03

Spiced Apple Biscuits

Adapted from The Minimalist Baker

Makes 8 biscuits

Ingredients

  • 1 1/4 cup all purpose flour, plus a little more for your hands
  • 1/4 cup almond meal (or 1/4 cup more flour)
  • 1/2 cup quick oats
  • 1/2 Tbsp baking powder
  • 1 pack vanilla sugar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice, or your favorite combination of cinnamon/ginger/nutmeg/cloves/etc.
  • 1 apple, chopped
  • 1 stick cold butter, cubed
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 egg

Instructions

Preheat oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

In a large bowl, mix together flours, oats, baking powder, salt, sugar, and spices.  Toss in apple chunks, and stir to coat with the flour mixture.  Cut in butter using your hands, a pastry blender, or two knives until the dough is in pea-sized clumps.

In a small bowl, whisk together the milk and egg.  Add the wet mixture to the dry, stirring until just incorporated.

Turn the mixture out onto a floured surface or directly onto your baking sheet.  With floured hands, fold the dough a few times and then shape into a large circle or rectangle, about 1 inch thick.  Using a sharp knife, cut dough into 8 sections and separate slightly.

Bake in the oven for about 20 minutes.  If your oven bakes unevenly, rotate the tray halfway through.

Posted to Serendipity and Spice’s Manic Monday and Mandy’s Recipe Box’s Totally Tasty Tuesday!

3 thoughts on “Bake on Saturday: Spiced Apple Biscuits”

  1. You are so lucky it’s still warm. We have plummeted to the high 30s here in NY and this morning is especially chilly. I would love this spiced apple scones to help warm me up!! Looks great.
    Ps: I’m not a fan of Halloween either.

Leave a Reply

