Lunch & Dinner, Recipes

20-Minute Roasted Potato Bites

Every time my roommate sees me making something besides your typical Austrian main-dish staples (pasta, sausages, eggs, for example) she asks me if it’s the first time I’ve made it.  Risotto?  No.  Biscotti?  No.  Naan?  No.

With these potatoes, she asked me another question: were they cooked first?  She meant had I boiled them before putting them in the oven.  I shook my head no.  I was actually baffled–do some people do that?  Maybe Austrians do, I haven’t quite figured that out yet.  They are fans of boiled potatoes here.  I guess smashed potatoes are boiled first, too, so maybe it wasn’t as odd of a question as I initially thought.

I am a huge fan of potatoes.  I jokingly say it’s my Irish roots coming out, but it could just as easily be my German roots that fuel the potato love.  But don’t get me started on my family history or we will be here forever.

I’ve taken to making these potatoes about once a week to serve with sausages or eggs.  They are super quick and taste delicious.  I know there are a million recipes for roasted potatoes floating around the Internet, but I haven’t posted one yet, so this is my moment to get my two cents in.

roast potatoes01

I keep my flavors very basic and use maybe a little more olive oil than necessary.  However, a little extra olive oil ensures crispy potatoes.  And the crispy-ness is one of the best things about this method of cooking potatoes.  The outside gets all nice and crispy and the inside is soft and fluffy.  I don’t generally measure for this recipe but when I made these again yesterday, I really tried so that I could be more specific than “Drizzle potatoes with olive oil.”

Oh, I guess I should say my inspiration for this dish comes from my Ma.  She used to make oven fries every now and then when I was little and I remember once professing that I liked her oven fries better than restaurant French fries.  As much as I love potatoes, I’ve never been a huge fry-fan.  That being said, the best fries I’ve ever had are definitely currywurst Imbiss fries from Berlin.  No place in particular, they all know how to do a potato justice in the fryer.

20-Minute Roasted Potato Bites

Serves 2

Ingredients

  • 2 medium potatoes
  • 1 T olive oil
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Instructions

Preheat oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.

Wash potatoes and chop into 3/4 -1 inch chunks.  Toss with olive oil, salt, and pepper.  Place on a baking sheet and bake for about 20 minutes, checking and shaking the pan halfway through.

2 thoughts on “20-Minute Roasted Potato Bites”

  1. I love simple and great potatoes!! It’s always my go-to side. I mostly add some fresh herbs but sometimes just some salt and pepper is all you need.

Leave a Reply

