Austria

Austria Update #1

When I first started this blog, I intended for it to be about two things.  First of all, food, and second of all, figuring out what I was going with my life.  I thought it would be easy to meld the two together, but that hasn’t really been the case.

If you’ve been following me, you know that I have done a couple exciting things in the past month or so.  Firstly, I did a workshop with Adventures in Preservation and the Fairfield Foundation as part of my exploration of figuring out what I want to be when I grow up.  It was only a week, but I loved being able to do hands on history and combine historic preservation and archaeology with history.  You can read about my experience on AiP’s blog here and here.  Now I’m in Austria doing a more long-term exploration of career possibilities.  Through the AAEC/Fulbright Commission I’ve gotten a job working as a teaching assistant at a Hochschule in Austria’s third-largest city, Linz.

So far I’ve only taught two lessons (thank you, U.S. government, for shutting down and giving me a controversial topic to introduce to my classes on Day 1), but I’ve been exploring my new city and had a mostly fun week of orientation in the Alps.  Second year TAs have said the job itself is wonderful, and I’m hoping it will be.  A Hochschule is a training college, and mine for teachers, a so I’ll be working with people about my own age.  The students are studying to be K-8 teachers and choose to focus on either English, math, or German.  Of the two groups I worked with yesterday, one was very talkative and the other very quiet.  I know in general people are slow to warm up to new classes, but if the quiet group doesn’t begin talking soon, there may be some problems, as my jobs is basically to lead lessons on conversational English.  Nonetheless, I think my first two lessons went well!

I plan to post monthly or bi-monthly updates regarding the experience, tying in food whenever I can.  This week’s post has nothing to do with food, though I most certainly have been eating while I’ve been here.  Meals were included at our orientation, which means I ate completely Austrian cuisine for the week: potatoes prepared in multiple ways at both lunch and dinner, lots of bread, and lots of meat.

Anyway, I hope you enjoy these photos!  I’ll be back on Saturday with something savory!

The Hauptplatz in Linz.  It's quite pretty in the sunlight, though it's unfortunately been rather gray lately.
The Hauptplatz in Linz. It’s quite pretty in the sunlight, though it’s unfortunately been rather gray lately.
A bakery near the Hauptplatz sells Don-Cro, an Austrian version of the famous (infamous?) cronut.  I have yet to try it, but I definitely want to.
A bakery near the Hauptplatz sells DonCro, an Austrian version of the famous (infamous?) cronut. I have yet to try it, but I definitely want to.
The skyline of the Linz Altstadt on a sunny day.
The skyline of the Linz Altstadt on a sunny day.
alps02
At the top of the Reiterkogel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm during orientation week. The peak is 1818 meters high, and I made it all the way up!

Want to see more of my travel photos?  You can check out my Flickr page for photos from this adventure and previous ones!

3 thoughts on “Austria Update #1”

Leave a Reply

