Bake on Saturday, Recipes

Bake on Saturday: Berry Coffee Cake + Announcements

First of all, I’d like to apologize before we get started with this recipe.  I didn’t intend to post it (I wasn’t really thinking about blogging at 8 am when I was making our Sunday Family Breakfast), so I didn’t take many photos and I may not have measured the streusel topping accurately.  BUT it ended up being really delicious and I wanted to share it!

Second, you may remember that I missed a post last week after getting caught up with an Adventure in Preservation with the Fairfield Foundation.  I wrote a blog post about my experience, you can read it and see photos here!

Thirdly, and lastly for now, I’ll be moving to Austria in a few weeks, so if I my blog posts get a little sloppy, please excuse me!  But this means I’ll hopefully be sharing more travel stories and food adventures as well as the usual recipes!

Now, to this super easy and delicious coffee cake!  I made it for our family breakfast one Sunday recently.  Since I can remember, Sunday has been a sit down breakfast day–we all eat together, we all eat the same thing, and there is absolutely NO reading or newspapers or browsing on iPods.  It’s forbidden.

coffee cake01

It also means I’ve eaten a lot of coffee cake and experimented with muffin flavors.  And lots of pancakes, but that’s another story for another time.  Blueberries are always a winner, especially when they are on sale.  And who doesn’t love streusel topping?  I like mine light, but you can, of course, lean on the heaping side of measurements.

The resulting cake is a moist, sweet cake with an extra boost from the brown sugar and berries.  It’s great for breakfast or brunch and has simple ingredients that end up producing a really well-balanced cake.  Nothing to argue with here!

Berry Coffee Cake

Adapted from The Pioneer Woman.

Ingredients

1/2 cup oil

1/2 cup brown sugar

1 large egg

1 tsp vanilla

2 cups flour (I used white whole wheat)

2 1/4 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 cup milk

scant 1/2 cup Greek yogurt

2 cups berries, fresh or frozen (I used fresh blueberries and frozen raspberries)

For Streusel (approximate measurements)

1/2 stick butter, room temperature (1/4 cup butter)

1/4 cup oats

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup flour

1 T flaxseed meal

pinch cinnamon

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.  Grease a 9×13 pan.  Combine flour, salt, and baking powder in a small bowl.

In a large bowl, mix together oil and brown sugar.  Add egg and vanilla, mix to combine.  Add flour mixture alternately with milk and yogurt.  Gently stir in berries.  Pour into pan.

In a small bowl, mix streusel ingredients together.  Sprinkle over cake batter.

Bake for 40-45 minutes or until golden brown.

Question: Do you have a favorite breakfast baked good?  I think mine is muffins, though I love all breakfast foods and its tough to decide!

3 thoughts on “Bake on Saturday: Berry Coffee Cake + Announcements”

Leave a Reply

