Dessert, Recipes

Congo Cookies

Grandma knows best when it comes to these chocolate and walnut bar cookies!

Last week, I posted a family recipe and this week I’ve got another for you!  You may have noticed, Reader, that I missed my usual Bake on Saturday post this past week–things got busy as I participated in a super fun week-long Adventures in Preservation workshop.  But that’s besides the point (mostly) because I’m back now with more delicious baked goods!

congo cookies01

I think most people probably know these cookies as “blondies.”  I honestly have no idea why we call these Congo Cookies, and according to my mom, the name for these got changed around a lot when she was little depending on where the cookies were headed.  This was my grandma’s go-to bake sale recipe, and it was my mom’s as well.  I can’t imagine ever bringing these to an elementary school now (nuts! gasp! someone might be allergic!), but if you aren’t worried about the nut issue, these really should be on your To Bake list.

The flavors in these cookies are simple: brown sugar and vanilla.  They are chewy and loaded with chocolate chips, with a nice crunch and another layer of flavor from the walnuts.  These cookies are also so easy to put together.  Melted butter means no creaming, so you basically throw everything into one large bowl.  They also only take thirty minutes to bake (less than some boxed brownies!), though as is true with many baked goods, waiting for them to cool is the hard part.  You really should let them cool almost completely before trying to cut them–while wonderfully tasty, they are not the sturdiest of cookies.

Well-used (or at least, it pretends to have been) family cookbook
Well-used (or at least, it pretends to have been) family cookbook

P1010160

Congo Cookies

Makes 1 – 9×13 pan

Ingredients

  • 1 3/4 sticks (7/8 cup) butter or margerine, melted
  • 2 cups brown sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 2 3/4 cups flour (I used half white whole wheat and half white)
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup chocolate chips
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.  Line a 9×13 pan with aluminum foil and grease it.

Mix melted butter and brown sugar.  Beat in eggs.  Mix in the rest of the ingredients.  Note: Some people have said these come out on the dry side, and there are two things you can do to make sure this doesn’t happen.  Make sure you have good brown sugar that is still moist!  Also, you can alternate mixing in the eggs with the dry ingredients (1 egg then 1 cup of flour, etc.)

Pour into pan and bake in the oven for about 30 minutes.

Let cool before cutting.

Posted to Mostly Homemade Mom’s Show and Share Wednesday and Miz Helen’s Country Cottage’s Full Plate Thursday!

7 thoughts on “Congo Cookies”

  1. I would have mixed results with these cookies (sometimes too hard and dry, sometimes too gooey) until I started alternating beating in an egg and then beating in 1/3 of the flour mixture.

  2. I just love old family recipes, they are just so precious. Your Congo Cookies look delicious, I would love to taste them. Thanks so much for bringing this awesome recipe to Full Plate Thursday today and have a great weekend!
    Miz Helen

  3. A friend gave me this recipe years ago. Of course I call them Suzi’s Congo Bars 🙂 I have never had a fail and have made them many times. Maybe it’s because we love them dry, moist or however they turn out!
    Bonnie

Leave a Reply

