Bake on Saturday, Dessert, Recipes

Bake on Saturday: Vegan Chocolate Cupcakes

Chocolate cupcakes that will please vegans and non-vegans alike.  Everyone deserves chocolate cake!

Cake is wonderful.  I may have mentioned that last week.  But sometimes it’s hard to please everyone, especially with the wide array of dietary restrictions people have today, either by choice or due to allergies.  I don’t think anyone should be left out of the wonderful world of cake for that reason.

I cannot remember why I chose to make this recipe for the first time, which was several years ago.  Maybe I was out of eggs or sometime, I don’t think it was to accommodate someone’s diet.  I was sold on the cupcakes though, vegan or not.  The crumb is tender and the cake has just the right amount of chocolate flavor.  You’d never know they were vegan!

vegan cupcake02

Since they are vegan, I think it’s important to note that these are made of relatively standard ingredients, the kind of things you usually keep in your cabinet all the time.  There are no egg substitutes, no soy or almond milk…the recipe does call for cake flour, which I guess most people may not always have on hand, but as a baker, I do!

IMG_6900

This time, I topped the cupcakes with a vegan buttercream made from Earth Balance Buttery Spread and soy milk.  I’ll be honest–it wasn’t my favorite.  If I was just making them for myself, I maybe would’ve just gone with a sprinkle of powdered sugar (yes, this is the kind of cake that doesn’t need to be smothered in butter and sugar to taste good).  If I make vegan frosting again, I will probably make it chocolate as I felt that the vanilla frosting didn’t have enough flavor.

But enough said!  Looking for an egg-free or dairy-free cake?  Look no further, make these!

vegan cupcake01

Vegan Chocolate Cupcakes

Makes 12 cupcakes.

From Martha Stewart’s Cupcakes.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups cake flour (not self-rising), sifted
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup plus 1 T vegetable oil
  • 1 T vinegar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 1/2 cups water

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.  Line a cupcake tin with 12 liners.

Place ingredients in a large bowl and beat with an electric mixer on medium speed (or use a stand mixer) until smooth.  The batter will be very thin.

Divide batter evenly, filling each cup 3/4 full.

Bake 20-25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

When cooled, frost if desired or dust with powdered sugar.  Store in an airtight container.

Enjoy!

Posted to Angels Homestead’s Saturday Spotlight and Serendipity and Spice’s Manic Monday!

4 thoughts on “Bake on Saturday: Vegan Chocolate Cupcakes”

Leave a Reply

