Lunch & Dinner, Recipes

Garlic-Ginger Pulled Pork

A slow-cooker meal to please the masses: pulled pork goes Asian.

Until probably ninth grade, I seriously thought pork was white meat.  I mean, you cook it, and it’s white-ish.  If we’re being technical, I guess it’s really sort of a peachy-pink, but so are chicken and turkey.  Once I had that revelation, I could no longer say that I didn’t like red meat, because while (to my father’s disappointment) I don’t really like beef, I do like pork.

And since we’re on the subject of things that I don’t like…barbecue.  I’ve never quite understood the American fascination with barbecue.  Or with the sauce, at least.  Barbecue technically refers to the style in which the meat is cooked, and I’m fine with that, but it’s the sauce that I can do without.  So I’ve never been the person heading for the pulled pork at cookouts.

This pulled pork is different, though.  Instead of being flavored with traditional sweet tomato and chili barbecue sauce, this version gets is cooked in garlic, ginger, jalapeno, and onion for an Asian spin on the American classic.  This is the kind of pulled pork I can get behind.  Pulled pork traditionalists will love it, too, as it still has that little bit of sweetness and heat that normally come from barbecue sauce.  Plus, it couldn’t be easier, because you simply throw all your ingredients into your crock pot and it does all the hard work.  And it can be doubled (or tripled) really easily in order to serve more!

Pulled pork and coleslaw on a whole-wheat ciabatta roll.
Pulled pork and coleslaw on a whole-wheat ciabatta roll.

There are two ways I like to serve this recipe: in a faux banh mi or over rice with steamed vegetables.  I have a feeling there are many other applications if neither of those whet your appetite–dumplings or potstickers, with cornbread, wrapped in a pita or tortilla…

Garlic-Ginger Pulled Pork

From Kitchen Confidante.

Serves 8.

Ingredients

  • 2 lbs boneless pork tenderloin or shoulder (approximately)
  • 8 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 jalapeno, diced
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 1 2-inch piece of ginger, minced
  • 3/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1/4 cup vinegar (I used half apple cider and half Chinkiang)
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
  • Freshly ground black pepper

Equipment

  • Large crock pot

Serving Suggestions

  • Coleslaw or pickled carrots
  • Sliced cucumbers
  • Sriracha sauce
  • Mayonnaise
  • Fresh cilantro

Instructions

Mix all ingredients together in the crock pot.  Place in pork shoulder or tenderloin, spooning some of the liquid over the pork.  Cook on high for four hours or on low for eight.  If there is a large amount of liquid left when the pork is done, remove some of it with a ladle and simmer it in a saucepan on medium-low heat, or thicken it with cornstarch.  Shred the pork using two forks.

To make banh mi, serve pulled pork on a crispy baguette with picked carrots, sliced cucumber, and fresh cilantro.  For a more traditional pulled pork sandwich, serve with coleslaw on a bun or ciabatta roll.

Beagle approved.
Beagle approved.

Posted to Polka Dots on Parade’s Wow Me Wednesday!

2 thoughts on “Garlic-Ginger Pulled Pork”

  1. I made this for dinner yesterday and it was GREAT. Both my kids gobbled it up, and they normally don’t touch their dinners. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

