Bake on Saturday, Recipes

Bake on Saturday: (Almost) Whole Wheat Muffins

Simple one-bowl muffins made with whole-wheat flour and studded with chocolate chips, cranberries, and chia seeds.

For my first Bake on Saturday post, I’d like to share the one recipe that has been a constant in my life.  Seriously.  I have many memories of making this (well, the original version of this) as a child.

But first, what is Bake on Saturday?  Per the saying I learned from Laura Ingalls Wilder wash on Monday, iron on Tuesday, mend on Wednesday, churn on Thursday, clean on Friday, bake on Saturday, rest on Sunday,” I will be posting a recipe each Saturday!

muffins01

I’ve always loved baking and, while some of the things I made probably didn’t turn out too well (there was one instance involving crushed up chocolate graham crackers, melted butter, and sprinkles when I was about five or six), this recipe does not fail.  I remember specifically making this one morning after a friend slept over.  Her little sister who was about my sister’s age also slept over, and they also made “muffins,” but theirs were mostly blueberry yogurt.  Ours were real muffins, thanks to Betty Crocker.

muffins02

The original version of this recipe comes from a vintage Betty Crocker children’s cookbook, the 1965 New Boys & Girls Cookbook.  I want to say the recipe is on page 32, but I don’t have the book in front of me so I can’t be 100% sure.  It offers variations on the recipe, but this is my own (almost) whole wheat version.  This batch has dried cranberries, chocolate chips, and chia seeds in it.

P.S. If you make these for your roommates, they will love you.  Especially if you add chocolate chips.  I speak from experience.

(Almost) Whole Wheat Muffins

Makes: 6 muffins

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup white flour
  • 1/8 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 1/2 t baking powder
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1/8 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup water, milk, or apple juice
  • Optional add-ins (I don’t measure these): chocolate chips, dried cranberries, raisins, chia seeds, chopped up apple or pear, blueberries, raspberries…or whatever else you want!

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Line a muffin tin with cupcake papers or grease the tin.

Mix together dry ingredients and whatever add-ins you are using in a large bowl.  In a small bowl or large measuring cup, mix the liquid ingredients.  Pour the liquid mix on top of the dry mix, and stir just until incorporated.  Do not over mix!

Divide the batter between the muffin tins, filling each about 2/3-3/4 of the way full.

Bake 20-25 minutes.  Serve warm or at room temperature.  To store, place in an airtight container or zip-top bag, or wrap individually in plastic wrap.

3 thoughts on “Bake on Saturday: (Almost) Whole Wheat Muffins”

Leave a Reply

