Bake on Saturday: Vanilla Peach Cupcakes (for Four)

A mini-batch of cupcakes filled with sweet peaches and scented with vanilla.

I live an apartment with three other young women (I was about to say girls, but the feminist parts of my brain are trying to get myself to stop using that term to describe fully grown adult females), which is great.  Except we will all be moving out in two (!) weeks and going our separate ways…three of us will try and be Real People, one is still finishing up college.

I digress.  Roommates are great for many reasons, but especially when it comes to baked goods, because it means there will be other people to eat all the sweet things I bake.  Especially since two of them have sweet-tooths and metabolisms that allow them to eat whatever they want all the time.  When I’m at home and bake something, we usually end up giving half of it to the neighbors.

But sometimes I just do that so I can get started on the next baking project.

IMG_6540

Anyway, even with roommates who willingly consume baked goods, sometimes you just don’t need a whole batch of whatever.  Now, one person mug cakes are great, but when everyone wants dessert, they aren’t entirely practical.  Mixing up multiple single serving mug cakes definitely takes more work than making a batch of one-bowl cupcakes.

Luckily, Jessica at How Sweet it Is has a recipe for one-bowl cupcakes for two.  And two can be easily doubled to make four!  Actually, doubling her recipe ended up making six cupcakes for me, but I am convinced my $2 church rummage sale vintage cupcake tins are slightly smaller than most cupcake tins.

This recipe is super easy, quick, and delicious…though I guess it’s not quite a one-bowl recipe because you need to melt the butter in something.  The peach flavor in these is very light.  If you want a peach-ier flavor, I would suggest pureeing some peaches or using peach juice in place of the liquid.  As our blender doesn’t work, I couldn’t try either of these options.  If you do, let me know how it goes!

cupcakes 01

Vanilla Peach Cupcakes

Adapted from How Sweet it Is

Makes: 4-6 cupcakes

Ingredients

  • 1 egg
  • 2 T granulated sugar
  • 2 T white sugar
  • 4 T butter, melted
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup flour (I used 1/4 cup whole wheat and 1/4 cup white)
  • heaping 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • pinch salt
  • 3 T milk
  • 1/4 cup fresh peach, diced

Instructions

Line a cupcake tin with 4-6 liners.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the egg and sugars.  Add in the melted butter and vanilla, whisk to combine.

Add flour, baking powder, and salt and mix until smooth.  Stir in milk and diced peach.

Divide evenly between your cupcake liners (they should be filled 2/3-3/4 of the way).  Bake for 10-12 minutes.

Optional: frost when cooled.  I used a vanilla buttercream.

Question: What’s your favorite cupcake flavor?

Leave a Reply

